Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by 11olsen » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:11 pm

it's based on an external that talks with the nocturn directly via usb. it's required to replace the nocturn driver with the open-source libusb driver before it works.

mbakirov
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mbakirov » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:42 pm

11olsen wrote:it's based on an external that talks with the nocturn directly via usb. it's required to replace the nocturn driver with the open-source libusb driver before it works.
if i do that, will my other novation gear work? I have impulse and Launchpad.

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by 11olsen » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:09 pm

mbakirov wrote:
if i do that, will my other novation gear work? I have impulse and Launchpad.
Sure! Only the Nocturn driver is replaced. Other Novation devices are not affected.

guille
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Spain

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by guille » Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:30 pm

mbakirov wrote:damn it.
the download link is not working anymore
is there anyone who had already downloaded the file? can yuo put it somewhere?
I've updated the post with a link to files in GitHub. I've included also links to your video and Funk N. Furter tutorial.

mbakirov
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by mbakirov » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:15 am

thank you so much!

snappyass
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:40 pm

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by snappyass » Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:50 am

nice1 i hate automap

TaoEntropy
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:42 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by TaoEntropy » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:51 am

Hey Guille (or anyone else),

I really like the functionality of these scripts, but is there any way I could leave Nocturn's user page blank so it just sends Midi CCs without the scripts kicking in and selecting channels, etc...?

I'd like to keep your functionality for FX, inst, and mixer but have a user area that is mapable and only sends Midi CC.

Any thoughts?

Thanks very much!

d.coder
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:09 pm

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by d.coder » Tue May 19, 2015 8:14 am

Is there a way to lock the controller to a device with the script?

A big thanks for providing this script!

Carlos Xeno
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:37 pm

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by Carlos Xeno » Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:43 pm

Hi Guille Thank you so much for the script, you rock man!... i just have some trouble here, i don`t fully understand how the button 5 of the mixer section page 3 works (sel/arm), i want to arm the channel i have selected, but just can't figure out how, also, is there a way to control more than 8 channels in the mixer mode?, and finally, is there a way to navigate trhough the devices in the inst mode??

thank you so much man! :D

stevewhite99
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:34 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by stevewhite99 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:44 pm

So... Just trying out the 9.5 beta and Guille's fantastically useful Nocturn scripts are no longer available (not showing up in the drop down controller selector).

As I understand it, this is because of a move to Python 2.7 from Python 2.5. That is just about the end of my understanding on that front.

Is there any hope that these scripts can be updated? I for one would be prepared to pay some money, if Novation had sold the Nocturn with the functionality these scripts give in Live then they would have sold enormous quantities.

If anyone can help please post.

d.coder
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:09 pm

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by d.coder » Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:15 pm

Here it is showing up in the drop down controller selector.
I am on Live 9.5 on Win 8.1.
Maybe something is missing in your MIDI Remote Scripts folder..?..
Hope this helps and you get it running.

allmodcons
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by allmodcons » Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:34 pm

I had just shelved my Nocturn out of frustration,when I came across this topic. So far,the RemoteScript is working great.This has saved my Nocturn from being unusable to being back on my desk.Novation seems uninterested in supporting the Nocturn,so a big THANKS to Guille for providing the script.
Curious if anyone knows how to get the Nocturn "SpeedDial" working again....on early versions of Automap it worked great--very handy--- but with updates to Automap it has been disabled....

allmodcons
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by allmodcons » Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:37 pm

I meant to add that I am on Windows 10 with Ableton 9....

stevewhite99
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:34 am

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by stevewhite99 » Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:26 pm

To clarify my earlier post about Guille's Nocturn remote scripts no longer working, this is in the 9.5.1 beta (with Ableton Link). It's an acknowledged issue with older remote scripts that use Python 2.5.

This means the scripts won't be working with the next release of Live and will need to be updated to work with Python 2.7. If anyone has any idea how to achieve this, then you will be a hero to me and presumably to anyone else who loves their Nocturn and only knows Python as a large snake.

jontonal
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:36 pm

Re: Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Post by jontonal » Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:47 am

Does the script work with Live 9.5?

Post Reply