For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
blueprint
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 3:19 am
Location: Columbia, MO
Contact:

For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by blueprint » Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:27 am

I used to get that warm feeling listening to my drums in audio cause I can see the hits and waveforms but now that I've been digging deeper and deeper into drum racks, it's all about midi. I feel like I'm abandoning one of my oldest preferences for drumwork.

From being able to add effects, pitch, filter, etc.. each individual hit or doing that to the entire break, it's just easier with midi and specifically drum racks.

Impulse was always a bit shit to use for drums cause it was very robotic in it's way but drum racks is so deep that after 6 months of straight use I still can find new uses for it.

Anyways, rant over.

Peace!

dru
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by dru » Sun Aug 30, 2009 5:28 am

I'm actually going the other way.

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by hurlingdervish » Sun Aug 30, 2009 5:30 am

I'm going both ways :wink:

grouping makes it possible damnit another :wink:

just leave the compression and eqing until the audio track drums and midi drums are grouped then they sound like the same instrument

Android Bishop
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 1:03 am

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by Android Bishop » Sun Aug 30, 2009 5:51 am

yeah I'm learning to go both ways too. Used to only use midi, but there are certain things you can only do with audio. But then you gotta split them up and send em back into drum racks for more sequencing. Its a bitch

aqua_tek
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by aqua_tek » Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:16 am

Image

:lol:

seriously though, a combination of audio and midi is usually ftw. I prefer to leave drum breaks as audio tracks, to be able to better judge what I'm cut/copy/paste/duplicating/etc and use drumracks for supporting one-hits. Then I group them all into a track. What sucks is that I can't cut/copy/paste/duplicate while the group tracks are collapsed. :( Collapsing group tracks helps to save a lot of screen space and I hate having to expand them to do simple edit tasks. Hopefully in a future update.

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by Pasha » Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:39 am

I used to drop drum samples into clips.. Session Drums changed my approach.
However, I have to say that a real drummer is always better than everything.
The Hi-Hats sometimes sound robotic, it's an accent thing that I'm not able to simulate yet.
A friend of mine will lend me his Firepod with 10 channels so that I can try to record
my old buddy drummer Live... hope my Macbook will be able to do it...

- Best
- Pasha
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by zalo » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:26 am

if you can make a multi sampled kit, you can do anything

i like to put a small amount of random velocity in my drum racks

also mix a minimum of 3 samples for each pad

pretty convincing drum programming, especially with a little groove random to wobble/smear the timing

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by outershpongolia » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:35 am

zalo wrote:i like to put a small amount of random velocity in my drum racks
Speaking of, anyone using ToonTrack EZdrummer? Tried out the DrumkitFromHell for my brother (who makes sortof gloomy-ambient deathmetal) and it seemed to kick ass at emulating the "randomness" of a real drummer.

dru
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by dru » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:45 am

Ezdrummer is good, great humanizing function plus multiouts too but less features. Superior drummer is the newer approach to ezdrummer.

ghast
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Gainesville, Florida

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by ghast » Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:05 pm

Yah, start in midi, then freeze/flatten. Now you're in audio. You don't need to stick to just one method.

blueprint
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 3:19 am
Location: Columbia, MO
Contact:

Re: For drums, I used audio, now I use just midi.

Post by blueprint » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:30 pm

I DO use BOTH methods but I'm tending to notice how much more flexibility there is with midi, in fact, these responses only validate my points.

BRO pic is priceless. lol

Post Reply