MIDI routing in Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

MIDI routing in Live

Post by broc » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:36 pm

I'm using a MIDI generating plugin (Thesys) that outputs notes and control events.
But I want to receive the notes and control events on different tracks.
Is this separation possible in Live?

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by broc » Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:00 am

So I guess no answer means NO.
Or maybe the question wasn't clear?

cacti
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:53 pm

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by cacti » Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:04 am

cant you just route your midi output into a different channel using midi to and midi from?

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by broc » Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:23 am

Unfortunately, Thesys sends notes and control events on the same channel (which can't be changed). But even if they were on different channels, I'm not sure how it could work, as Live doesn't seem to provide channel selection when receiving MIDI from a plugin.

R.A.W.
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: hamburg|de
Contact:

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by R.A.W. » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:41 am

you should be able to achieve that by using 3rd party VSTs - http://www.thepiz.org/dl/?p=vst#pizmidi

try the midiNotchFilter, there you should be able to filter notes on one and CCs on another track.
ThinkPad T500,Core 2 Duo T9600 (2x2,8GHz)/3GB RAM/Radeon HD3650/FireWire 410/WinXP SP3 32bit
AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz/4GB RAM/GeForce GTX460/ESI U24 XL/Win7 x64
Ableton Live 8/energyXT2/APC40/MPKmini/LaunchPad/TriggerFinger
http://www.bitmud.com

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by broc » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:40 pm

Thanks R.A.W.!

That's exactly what I need. Works great.

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by LeifonMars » Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:05 pm

broc wrote:I'm using a MIDI generating plugin (Thesys) that outputs notes and control events.
But I want to receive the notes and control events on different tracks.
Is this separation possible in Live?
Well, at least notes coming from the same channel are easy to separate to different instruments with an instrument rack:
Let's say you have 3 note lines coming from your source on the same midi channel, in order to route these to 3 different instruments you could do following.

1. create an instrument rack on the track receiving your midi source.

2. separate the 3 note lines to different octaves far enough from each other so that they wont get mixed into the same key range.

3. put the 3 instruments you wish to receive your midi feed to 3 different chains. Adjust the key range (click show/hide chain list, key) of the instrument racks chains so that 3 instruments will get the midi note feed only from the octave range that contains the note line that was meant for it.

4. Put pitch plug-in in front of instruments in order to adjust the octave in which the instrument is meant to play it.

You can route the audio output of these instruments to individual armed audio tracks for further processing.

Cheers

Tommi
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: MIDI routing in Live

Post by broc » Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:23 pm

Thanks Tommi,

but I want to separate notes from control events.

Strangely, Live's MIDI routing and effects seem to deal only with notes.

So the above mentioned 3rd party VSTs provide a useful extension.

Post Reply