All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:44 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:24 pm
Posts: 13
Was wandering if ableton live6 is able to save midi map settings. Linked to Hercules we have most of the mappin complete. How can we/ or can we? Have this open in a new project. Would it be a case of saving the project as a blank file (but with midi map settings) and opening that blank file as a new project? or can it save another way?

Thanks
McBob
(Linda)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 23576
Location: SF, CA
mcBOB wrote:
save the project as a blank file (but with midi map settings) and open that blank file as a new project.

I save mine with a leading "_" so they're listed first in my projects directory.

for example:
_BCR_template
_guitar_bass_mic
_looper_setup


you can open that template set then use the Live browser to browse to older sets and drag stuff from the old into the new.

_________________
oddstep wrote:
I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:57 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:24 pm
Posts: 13
Tone Deft wrote:
mcBOB wrote:
save the project as a blank file (but with midi map settings) and open that blank file as a new project.

I save mine with a leading "_" so they're listed first in my projects directory.

for example:
_BCR_template
_guitar_bass_mic
_looper_setup


you can open that template set then use the Live browser to browse to older sets and drag stuff from the old into the new.




Thankyou!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:15 pm 

Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:36 am
Posts: 366
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Extending this question to Live 8: I'm guessing it's not possible because I've tried it but does anyone know if there is a way to save MIDI mappings on a synth and then drag that saved map/template into any project?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:13 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:59 pm
Posts: 1754
Location: 650 area
bump..

I know about the template stuff.. but I have several projects that have been made prior to making such templates..


edit.. ok, i think i see that this is still a feature requested by users..nvm

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:04 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:55 pm
Posts: 2045
Location: Boston, MA
Smellhound wrote:
Extending this question to Live 8: I'm guessing it's not possible because I've tried it but does anyone know if there is a way to save MIDI mappings on a synth and then drag that saved map/template into any project?


No. But what you can do is save Live sets that only have a single synth in it. You can drag live sets into each other from the browser.

So you can't save the synth mapping directly but you can do pretty much the same thing by saving live sets as mappings and dragging them into your current set. I believe that's what the other poster is saying with the "_" suggestion.

_________________
MBP | Live 9 Suite | Max for Live | Push | MOTU Ultralite | iPad | Analog Modular Synths | Moog Voyager
aka "Tempus3r" | Music | Blog | Twitter | Soundcloud

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:32 pm 

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:47 am
Posts: 88
Location: Swindon, England
Does anyone know if this works in the current version of live (8.2.1)?

I have tried but cannot make it work!!

Cheers,
Stax.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 12:29 pm 

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:47 am
Posts: 88
Location: Swindon, England
bump


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:32 pm 

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:47 am
Posts: 88
Location: Swindon, England
Quote:
No. But what you can do is save Live sets that only have a single synth in it. You can drag live sets into each other from the browser.


Anyone? did this used to work but no longer does?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:55 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1336
I would much like to see this feature also.

Currently I am in the process of setting up maps for instruments and creating custom touchOSC templates for popular instruments of mine. The only way to avoid remappng MIDI assignments all the time is to save the instrument as a "template" and then load this template. The issue is of course that sometimes depending on the project it's not possible to have all the instruments I want pre-loaded OR I open an old project that's been sitting around for a while and then want to add another instrument.

It is possible to drag a project into another project and have it load up the tracks with the macro assignments and everything (as posted above) EXCEPT the MIDI mappings are not imported. I would love to see a pop-up box asking if MIDI mappings can be imported.

Kind of stuck at this point because its difficult to constantly stop and map controls and extremely hard to design a control surface layout when you have to re-map controls every time.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 4:01 pm 

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:37 am
Posts: 27
+1 !!

_________________
--
www.ericzang.com
"Night Music of the Rainforest" now available for download


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:27 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:13 am
Posts: 2
Agreed.

This is massively annoying that midi mapping can't be saved in racks. Kills my workflow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saving Midi Mapping
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:34 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:31 am
Posts: 188
sorry for bumping an old thread but I wanted to know if the saving live sets with mapped material still works... I'm using 8.2. I saved a set and tried to drag it into a new set but its not working...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group