If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live

If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Yes
62
43%
No
54
38%
Maybe
27
19%
 
Total votes: 143

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:54 pm

Illum wrote:Tone, is there a faster way to implement momentary behavior aside from the obvious (max, bomes, etc)?

Is there a min/ max ratio I'm missing in midi map screen or something?
nothing obvious, s4racen's scripting, haven't tried it yet. can't find a better thread than this one:
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... &hilit=vc1


delicioso - by all means start helping people get a better experience with automap, there are always threads on how confusing it is.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

Ezmyrelda
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:20 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by Ezmyrelda » Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:54 pm

The Automap can be irritating at times but there is a pretty recent howto for using the Nocturn with Live's MIDI remote scripting which will allow you to control whatever rack has focus. That and the launchpad would give me as many buttons and knobs (Plus a crossfader!) as I need.

drako
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 5:05 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by drako » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:01 am

I already have a remote zero sl, wished for some kind of slimmed down APC, but there was no news on that.
So i ordered the APC and got it 2 weeks ago, nice machine, very solid, but now the remote sl had no more use anymore.

Until last week, i saw the novation launch pad on the front page.
I was like wtf... So i sold my apc, and preordered the launchpad.

nuxnamon
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: 650 area

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by nuxnamon » Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:57 am

hell yeah I'd still pick the APC..

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by hurlingdervish » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:07 am

never buy anything new in the first 6 months its out. EVER.

naph
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by naph » Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:41 am

absolutely yes.

akai quality is great.
and also i founds myself not using so much the clip grid as of now.. but the whole track selection sends, device encoders a lot during production!

littlelosthorse
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: London/Bangor

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by littlelosthorse » Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:16 pm

Automap will be crap until they get native ableton devices working with it p-r-o-p-e-r-l-y!
*horse*

delicioso
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by delicioso » Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:31 pm

littlelosthorse wrote:Automap will be crap until they get native ableton devices working with it p-r-o-p-e-r-l-y!
I think you're confused. Novation's handling of native Ableton devices is identical to APC40 or any other midi controller with assignable 8 encoders. Novation Ableton template works well with all of Live's native devices. You have 8 encoders that map instantly to the first 8 controls of a Live device or macros in a rack. For the Nocturn, it's just a matter of using remote midi instant mapping like any other midi controller. Other than this, there is no "proper" solution for native Ableton devices with any existing controller, not even APC40.

There's a limitation with Live in that you can't save assignments in a preset for native Live plugins, unless you put them in a rack.

Also, Launchpad does not use Novation Automap. It uses Ableton's own version of instant mapping, as does the APC40 and Novation's Ableton template. These are not the same as Automap Universal.

littlelosthorse
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: London/Bangor

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by littlelosthorse » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:08 pm

delicioso wrote:I think you're confused.
No, i understand completely. Automap is a great concept but it is rubbish in Ableton because it cannot be used in conjunction with native devices. You're right, there is no proper solution and Ableton's own instant mapping is at best, a bit pants really.

In conclusion, if novation had made this clear before purchase, I wouldn't have bought a novation controller - Regardless of whether I knew about Launchpad or not.

:(
*horse*

delicioso
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by delicioso » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:29 pm

littlelosthorse wrote:No, i understand completely. Automap is a great concept but it is rubbish in Ableton because it cannot be used in conjunction with native devices.
I'm not sure if you do understand. Novation Automap controllers CAN be used in conjunction with Live's native devices. It's no different than APC40 or any other midi controllers with 8 encoders.

jsg4z
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:16 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by jsg4z » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:31 pm

My problem with the apc40 was a combination of the volume sliders not showing the current volume and that you have NO idea what parameter you are going to change when you spin a knob. I still spend a lot of time looking at the Live interface. I am thinking launch pad might be all the really useful bits of the apc40 without the large size and with easy access to volume levels and mixer levels.

RajahP
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:13 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by RajahP » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:41 pm

wildcon wrote:
the APC is a general studio controller
I came very close to buying one for this reason plus its much more hands on
for firing clips than my Faderfox for live work.

However, I would have got one if the faders had been motorised making it a
true studio controller. That was a breaker for me.

I'm deffo getting the launchpad and am pretty happy that I didn't get the APC
especially with the UK pricing!!!

Now, the question is, are motorized faders obsolete with the Launchpad concept of volume controls?

jsg4z
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:16 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by jsg4z » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:53 pm

i would say so. the LEDs become your driven faders

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:19 am

jsg4z wrote:i would say so. the LEDs become your driven faders
that's a very good point. that idea should be ported to the APC tweaks, haven't tried those yet.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

jsg4z
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:16 am

Re: If you had known about Launchpad would you have bought APC?

Post by jsg4z » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:07 am

you think there is someway to enable that on the apc40? it certainly has the hardware to do it...just needs software. very cool.

Post Reply