Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by outershpongolia » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:00 am

It looks like something is continuously triggering CC4.. cause your Guitar Rig flashes it and goes back to the Pedal which is CC4 and then that CC80 goes back to CC4 as soon as its mapped..

I bet you could map it and then quickly get out of map mode before that CC4 gets triggered and get lucky..
MIDI feedback loop?
I'm not sure, i'm not much of a help in that area but it looks like something is setting off CC4 I would try to slowly deconstruct your Live set and see what you can come up with.. Does shutting down guitar rig let you map things to CC's other than 4?

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by outershpongolia » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:03 am

Wait.. isn't the CC4 an expression pedal? I think that thing is screwy and it thinks it's getting changed.. since it tilts up and down I figure it'd be easier to mess that thing up.

Maybe try pushing it all the way down or all the way up, or even holding it there while you try to map..

shtreimel
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by shtreimel » Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:57 pm

outershpongolia wrote:Wait.. isn't the CC4 an expression pedal? I think that thing is screwy and it thinks it's getting changed.. since it tilts up and down I figure it'd be easier to mess that thing up.

Maybe try pushing it all the way down or all the way up, or even holding it there while you try to map..
Ok, I'll try that. Thanks.

shtreimel
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by shtreimel » Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:04 pm

SOLVED

When the RK3 volume pedal isn't pressed all the way up, it interferes with the MIDI mapping in Ableton. Finally figured that one out.

Now I need to know why I'm getting random distorted sounds (the levels don't change). Anyone?

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:37 pm

random distorted sounds like pops, clicks, farts?

shtreimel
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by shtreimel » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:13 pm

outershpongolia wrote:random distorted sounds like pops, clicks, farts?
No. Just random distorted sound, without any impact on levels. It doesn't happen often, but when it does, it's annoying.

Atomikat
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:46 pm
Location: Elizabeth,NJ,USA and Colombia

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by Atomikat » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:14 am

Check for some modifiers? 8O

dburns
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:04 am
Contact:

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by dburns » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:47 am

shtreimel,

I'm sorry I have no help to offer, but I want to commend you for a great use of YouTube to present the problem. You video was very well done, and it sure demonstrated the issue you were asking about.

What did you use to create the video?

Nice work, and thanks for the good example of using tech in a smart way.
Dave Burns
Lowell, MA

More equipment than skill.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Video demo'ing MIDI problem w/ Guitar Rig 4 & Ableton

Post by UKRuss » Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:00 am

shtreimel wrote:
outershpongolia wrote:random distorted sounds like pops, clicks, farts?
No. Just random distorted sound, without any impact on levels. It doesn't happen often, but when it does, it's annoying.
I found this when playing into GR using my Nez with the dimarzio PUs. Despite using the HiZ input on the Ultralite it seemed it couldnt handle the signal over a certain velocity of strikeing the strings, so while it wasn't clipping in Live I still got a kind of disintegration of the signal. An off the shelf DI Box betwen guitar and Ultralite solved the problem.

not sure if thats what you mean...

Post Reply