Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:24 pm

One of the slogans of live was that i has a unified UI , there are no floating windows that interrupt your workflow.


well, yes its true , but when you use plug ins , its another story.

i use dont auto hide plug ins , i like to have inmmedite acces to my plugs.


so i think the abes should find a solution for this, some might say , use a second monitor, yeah , but what about if i use a laptop on stage or i just dont have another monitor.


do you also hate having all the vst interrupting your way and slowing down your work flow ?


hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by hurlingdervish » Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:51 pm

just configure the parameters you will be using and use the live sliders instead

done.

Anubis
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: Miami
Contact:

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by Anubis » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:24 pm

Steinberg's Wavelab solves this dilemma elegantly by allowing floating Vst windows to minimize in situ into a title bar.
Cakewalk's Sonar utilizes translucent "x-ray windows" that allow you to manipulate the host right thru a translucent image of the Vst.
Bottom line, you'd think Ableton should be as equally innovative as these companies?
9.0.4 Suite-Samsung Chronos 7 laptop(17")-12GB RAM-Samsung 840 series SSD(250GB)-iPad2-Maschine-TouchAble-SaffirePro24-Saffire6USB-Komplete Audio 6-Axiom25-PCR300-Nocturn-LaunchPad-QuNeo-QuNexus
miTunes

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by hurlingdervish » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:39 pm

Anubis wrote:Steinberg's Wavelab solves this dilemma elegantly by allowing floating Vst windows to minimize in situ into a title bar.
ummm....
Image

sporkles
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by sporkles » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:00 pm

hurlingdervish wrote:
ummm....
Image
Couldn't have said it better.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by djsynchro » Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:05 pm

Anubis wrote:Steinberg's Wavelab solves this dilemma elegantly by allowing floating Vst windows to minimize in situ into a title bar.
Cakewalk's Sonar utilizes translucent "x-ray windows" that allow you to manipulate the host right thru a translucent image of the Vst.
Bottom line, you'd think Ableton should be as equally innovative as these companies?
They should be more innovative and they are.

Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:44 pm



what ?

that suggestion of using lives sliders instead is a great "user" solution.


but this ,has many disadvantages for the user :


waste of time having to configure the paramters
limiting your posibilties of inspiration once you set some paramters and only see those you configured : if you see the plug in itself you can be inspired by ALL the parameters of it, not just the ones you set.



so, its a good "workaround" but it still is not a real solution-

i think it would be cool if the tracks had one little button at the top right that would bring the plug in up or something like this.

globalk
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:41 am

Re: Ableton live user interface,non floating windows. really ?

Post by globalk » Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:12 pm

Tweaking Knobs wrote:

what ?

that suggestion of using lives sliders instead is a great "user" solution.


but this ,has many disadvantages for the user :


waste of time having to configure the paramters
limiting your posibilties of inspiration once you set some paramters and only see those you configured : if you see the plug in itself you can be inspired by ALL the parameters of it, not just the ones you set.



so, its a good "workaround" but it still is not a real solution-

i think it would be cool if the tracks had one little button at the top right that would bring the plug in up or something like this.
In the studio use the full version of the window & when playing live (or when you don't want the distraction of switching windows) use the "workaround". You are not going to get a more streamlined solution then this?

Post Reply