Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
m.nash
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:40 pm

Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by m.nash » Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:21 am

Okay, I'm very worried that I'm doing something wrong.

I've been using the multiband compressor on so many of the instruments. I find it can warm the lows so well, and brighten up the high's beautifully - better than any Eq'ing. I'm just worried this is somehow going to come back to haunt me somehow.

Any words of caution and or encouragement?

Whats your thoughts/experiences with it so far?

Thanks,
J

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by UKRuss » Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:24 am

You can use like that of course, but my concern would be accumulation of specific frequencies at the master which would make it very difficult to mix, and subsequently for a mastering engineer to lift specific things without grabbing everything in the mix.

On the other hand, it's only a problem if you can hear it is causing a problem, if it's sounding good...carry on.

rdevries
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:03 am

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by rdevries » Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:27 am

I'm using it on the masterbus with every song and it works very "intensifying" to my ears, mostly not setting it to 100% wet but leave a part uncompressed.
Don't worry, if it sounds good then it is good.
Hopefully people who know more then me will chime in.

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by esky » Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:34 am

Interesting. Can you guys recommend a setting or a preset file to start with to see how good it can be...?

rdevries
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:03 am

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by rdevries » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:32 am

I just use Live's presets (standard multiband compression)and adjust ratio and treshold to taste, hardly ever change attack/releasecause I don't hear that much effect.
also mixing processed/unprocessed does nice things for me.

m.nash
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:40 pm

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by m.nash » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:33 am

My main use so far is to bump or lightly dampen low's and high's, not so much mids (sometimes dampen it here). I do this for my basses and leads, and on the master bus. I find it I like this better than boosting through EQ.

I usually just throw on the default settings, boost, and select the frequency range accordingly. Thats it... But ya, its just sounds good. I'll try wet/dry mixing as well.

I'll take a closer loose to the freq spectrum to see if anything leaps out as well as pay close attention to see if the transients or punch of the track is being destroyed.

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by LoopStationZebra » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:01 am

Multiband Compressor IS the new autotune, lol.
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by arachnaut » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:14 am

Just to throw in a differing opinion.

Dynamics are one of the components of music, like pitch and timber, beat, etc.

Would you only play in a single octave? Or only keep a static beat?

If you have some music that's soft, it's makes the louder stuff more dramatic.

These tools (Compressors. etc.) are good to have and use wisely, but I don't think they should be used on the Master Track.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by leedsquietman » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:33 am

If you need a multiband on the master channel your mix is not correct. EQ should also be kept off the master channel where possible, this stuff should be done at a track or group level if it's necessary.

The only time you'd do this would be if someone presented you a stereo mix (or one of your own) where you couldn't go back to the multitrack project.

Personally I try to avoid using multiband except in a few rare circumstances such as on a loop with frequency imbalances. Better to use a single band compressor with EQ for most tasks.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Orbit-50
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:55 pm
Location: Bordentown USA

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by Orbit-50 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:03 am

m.nash wrote:Any words of caution and or encouragement?
Just remember this. If it sounds good, it's good. That's all.


.-.
_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

Alienware i7 R3 loaded with billions of DAWs and plugins.

alex.the.forge
Posts: 1424
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:29 am

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by alex.the.forge » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:32 am

depends if you're using it correctively or creatively. You can do anything you like creatively, it just may create more work in the mixing/engineering

but so long as you are not destroying your dynamic range or overcompressing to the point of distortion, do what thou wilt but harm none.

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by Pasha » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:20 am

There's a preset I like named Neutral Mastering.
It brings in a Multiband Compression, Utility and a Limiter set not to be aggressive.
I made my version out of it by changing the Limiter's ceiling to -0.30db
and freq to my taste. I used it with moderation on the Master,
but only on the stereo mixdown file.
The risk I noticed is abuse.
Generally, I like 'if it sounds good then it's good'.
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

arachnaut
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by arachnaut » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:42 pm

Orbit-50 wrote: Just remember this. If it sounds good, it's good. That's all.


.-.
Once again, I'll voice a minor dissenting opinion.

I would say, "If it sounds good a week from now, it's good." Pick your time interval, but you have to remove yourself from the novelty effect in order to properly judge something. For many people, newness == goodness.

robotsound
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by robotsound » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:52 pm

this makes me sad.

citizenchris099
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:13 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx
Contact:

Re: Live's Multiband Compressor - I'm using it on everything!?

Post by citizenchris099 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:56 pm

I use it quite a bit as well. On certain instruments it sounds great.

Post Reply