Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Alex » Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:14 pm

Hi folks,

We just released the latest Live 8 version, Live 8.1.

The main focus of that 8.1 version is the release for the "Max for Live" product.
http://www.ableton.com

Additionally, Live 8.1 contains a bunch of bugfixes compared to Live 8.0.9. (A corresponding change log will follow soon).



Please ONLY update to Live 8.1 if you own a Live 8 full or suite license, as 8.1 does not yet support Lite and Intro licenses.
Live Lite and Live intro support will be included in a later bugfix release.

Best
/Alex

Hermanus
Posts: 1658
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Hermanus » Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:24 pm

Thank you :wink:

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:20 pm

As a suite owner, I still don't know whether I have to download the 1.5 GB suite file, or if I can just download the smaller one (which is still 700 mb!).

It's never clear to me, I'm always worried there's been some library change or update and I need the full one.

:?
Professional Shark Jumper.

Cowlash
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Cowlash » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:51 pm

update from within live and get what your given - there's not an option that way

RajahP
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:13 am

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by RajahP » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:07 pm

Is v8.1 available as a 30 day trial also?

Anubis
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: Miami
Contact:

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Anubis » Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:40 pm

glitchrock-buddha wrote:As a suite owner, I still don't know whether I have to download the 1.5 GB suite file, or if I can just download the smaller one (which is still 700 mb!).

It's never clear to me, I'm always worried there's been some library change or update and I need the full one.

:?
Please chime in on this issue Alex. For the 8.0.8 update you said it was fine to D/L the smaller file. How about this time around? I also posed this question for the 8.0.9 update and it went unanswered by Ableton.
9.0.4 Suite-Samsung Chronos 7 laptop(17")-12GB RAM-Samsung 840 series SSD(250GB)-iPad2-Maschine-TouchAble-SaffirePro24-Saffire6USB-Komplete Audio 6-Axiom25-PCR300-Nocturn-LaunchPad-QuNeo-QuNexus
miTunes

fatigator
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:31 am

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by fatigator » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:36 am

Hi, downloaded and installed, but the gui freezes while playing back 4 tracks on session view, went back to 8.0.9 and everything's fine... sending my set and report to 'ableton-support' as soon as I can...
Not so important since I still have no money and time for M4L and 8.0.9 works great, but...

Cheers.

G

Hermanus
Posts: 1658
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Hermanus » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:52 am

HUuuuuUUGE thank you here _one more

I was about to mail the tech support about some misbehavior on a project made on 7.0.18 and run on 8.0.9.
The project was about two midi tracks[1.main loop_2.additives] for a drum rack
with dummy clips on an audio track with beat repeat.

To make it short, some dummy clips were not playing the same as in 7, and it sounded bad.

now 8.1, first thing for launchpad users, like it is in 7.0.18> when you scroll down and up, just hold the button to scroll any numbers of scenes you want! Big + :idea:

2. The dummy clips behave RIGHT,
so I saved the project on 8.1>>> the file itself weights a bit less than the one saved with 7.0.18.

8.1 is the good one for me, and it god damn kills my email report :roll:

Hat off to the ableton team :D

sitarman
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:49 am

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by sitarman » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:07 am

GGettin unable to read file. Tried to download srveral times, looks like crc error. tried to unzip with winrar too, no luck

oldskool
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by oldskool » Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:55 am

Hope this release is better than 8.0.9, that release is crap. I cant even play my produced tracks in it as it bugs out. 8.0.8 is stable, here's hoping 8.1 is.

Benshik
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Moscow/Montreal

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by Benshik » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:22 am

Edit: oups! got it :)
Macbook 2.2ghz, OS 10.5.2, Focusrite Saffire, Microkontrol, Lemur

pntgncom
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:44 am

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by pntgncom » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:49 am

installed and launched 8.1, and opened project file which made on previous ver(8.0.9)
but crashed program when it load.
i checked 4-5 different project files but same result.
it seems very critical bug, anyone got same problem?


MBP 2.53GHz/4GB RAM OSX10.6.2

oldskool
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by oldskool » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:55 am

so far so good. All the files i have had issues with are working quite stable now.

gunforhire
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:55 pm

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by gunforhire » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:07 pm

I'm a suite user and I downloaded the smaller file (642MB), it worked like a charm and my splash screen is still black and white.

Thanks abes! Works great!

RCUS
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:31 am

Re: Latest Live 8 version: Live 8.1 is online!

Post by RCUS » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:22 pm

Is LockButton fixed in the user script text file?

Post Reply