Any one using LiSa X?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
RJ
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 12:37 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Any one using LiSa X?

Post by RJ » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:41 am

I was looking at LiSa X for live sampling. Anyone use this?
Or is anyone doing live sampling with only Ableton or M4L?

taaloopa
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by taaloopa » Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:29 am

I use just Ableton for live sampling - works well for me. It does mean working with loop based music - I think Lisa has other non loop based live sampling possibilities, so might be more flexible depending on what you're looking to do. Haven't tried M4L yet.
Live 9 macbook pro 2.2Ghz 10GB Ram MOTU Traveller Axiom 25 controller & lots of percussion...

http://www.drumscapes.net
http://www.facebook.com/jonsterckx
http://www.jonsterckx.co.uk
https://www.youtube.com/c/JonSterckx

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by 3dot... » Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:18 pm

... as opposed to 'dead' sampling ?!
Image

taaloopa
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by taaloopa » Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:55 pm

hmm - don't think the technology has advanced that far yet! :?
Live 9 macbook pro 2.2Ghz 10GB Ram MOTU Traveller Axiom 25 controller & lots of percussion...

http://www.drumscapes.net
http://www.facebook.com/jonsterckx
http://www.jonsterckx.co.uk
https://www.youtube.com/c/JonSterckx

RJ
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 12:37 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by RJ » Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:03 am

3dot... wrote:... as opposed to 'dead' sampling ?!
as opposed to using pre-made loops. catching samples of someone playing live and immediately being able to manipulate them.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by 3dot... » Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:19 pm

RJ wrote:
3dot... wrote:... as opposed to 'dead' sampling ?!
as opposed to using pre-made loops. catching samples of someone playing live and immediately being able to manipulate them.
oh...well... live has a 'looper' device...and it has the session view where you can record/layer into audio tracks..
....what else what else would you need ?!
Image

RJ
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 12:37 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Any one using LiSa X?

Post by RJ » Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:22 pm

3dot... wrote: oh...well... live has a 'looper' device...and it has the session view where you can record/layer into audio tracks..
....what else what else would you need ?!
looping is different than single hit sample manipulation, at least to me...
Have you checked out Steim's LiSa X at all?

Post Reply