APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:00 am

no max m4l bomes required,

ive expanded on my first attempt at making an APC sequencer, figured out how to get the lights flashing etc.

so here it is the APC40 Groove Box by Slightlydelic :D

http://www.mediafire.com/file/awydn3wuw3j/APC Groove Box by Slightlydelic Project.zip

WHAT YOU GET.

5 X 8 Step drum sequencers in the clip launch matrix push button activation with feedback

1 x 16 step 1/16th note Bass sequencer using the clip stop & track select for push button activation & feedback

1x 16 step 1/16th note lead sequencer using activator & solo/cue buttons for step on and off.

any drum sequence can be launched using the apropriate scene launch buttons on the APC

bass sequence is launched with the stop clips button

lead sequence is launched with the master button

all sequences can be stopped with the record arm button 1-7 number 8 stops all sequences.

pressing shift on the APC will light all buttons that are active briefly if playing, permanently if any or all sequences are stopped.

bass & lead sequences have pitch & duration for each individual step as follow

Bass sequence pitch = track controll pots PAN (1-8) device control bank 5 (9-16)
Bass sequence Duration = track control pots SEND-A (1-8) device control bank 6 (9-16)

lead sequence pitch = track control pots SEND-B (1-8) Device control bank 7 (9-16)
lead sequence duration = track control pots SEND-C (1-8) Device control bank 8 (9-16)

pitches for bass & lead are individualy adjustable for each step 0-12 semitones all nots default to C3

each sequence can be transposed up or down by 0-24 semitones by using device control bank 4 knobs 1 & 2

knob-1 = BASS
knob-2 = LEAD

WHAT YOU NEED

LIVE 8
An APC 40

instruments are included to get you up and running
A drum rack with 909 kit from drum machines
Analoge Square bass preset.
Analoge voice monk choir

if you have 8 Suite it should load up no problem

PLEASE CHECK ALL MIDI ROUTINGS BEFORE CHANGING INSTRUMENTS AS YOU MAY NEED TO RESET IT TO SUIT!!!! (PARTICULARLY THE DRUM RACK)

Please give it a go and let me know what you think of it.

keppy
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: SF

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by keppy » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:18 am

Right on, man!

I'm not near my apc at the moment, but i've had plenty of fun with the other sequencer you put together.

Thanks for sharing,

jeff

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:47 am

No problem Jeff, if you liked the last one, you will love this, ive had to loose the velocity unfortunalty but its worth it i guess.

to anyone who has a play with it, bare in mind you can record your midi output into each instrument tracks clip slots.

or add audio tracks fed from the instruments tracks and record the audio.

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:39 pm

I just thought,

the groove box should easily convert to launchpad, i dont have one but can point people in the right direction of how to set it up if anyones interested.

glamourboy
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Copenhagen

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by glamourboy » Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:37 am

whoa!
this sounds promising. is there a way to switch between step seq mode and standard apc mode? i'm guessing no, but it would be sweet. time for a second apc :-)

i'm using the monomulator which allows for switching (and has midi note mode and fader mode) but unfortunately it's buggy in a way that makes it unusable to me.

ringo kid f
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:13 pm
Contact:

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by ringo kid f » Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:07 am

bump!
Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Live 9
Elektron OT & A4
OP-1
Shruthi-1
Hardware +

dj_huck
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 1:19 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by dj_huck » Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:26 pm

link is dead for me. :( tried ie and ff

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:46 pm

glamourboy wrote:whoa!
this sounds promising. is there a way to switch between step seq mode and standard apc mode? i'm guessing no, but it would be sweet. time for a second apc :-)

i'm using the monomulator which allows for switching (and has midi note mode and fader mode) but unfortunately it's buggy in a way that makes it unusable to me.

unfortunalty not, everything is hard mapped, i would like a second apc myself.

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:48 pm

dj_huck wrote:link is dead for me. :( tried ie and ff

try either of these

http://www.mediafire.com/?awydn3wuw3j


http://www.mediafire.com/file/awydn3wuw3j/APC Groove Box by Slightlydelic Project.zip

Gray
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:58 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Gray » Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:34 pm

hey.

looks good, but there aren't any lights in the sequencer. how to turn that on?

though the thing is playing when pressing on different buttons...

cheers

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:03 pm

the light should work, check that your sending midi out to the apc in your preferences

Gray
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:58 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Gray » Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:00 am

hei.

yes, this was the fault :) works now, awesome!

Ben_Binary
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Ben_Binary » Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:15 pm

Slightlydelic wrote:
glamourboy wrote:whoa!
this sounds promising. is there a way to switch between step seq mode and standard apc mode? i'm guessing no, but it would be sweet. time for a second apc :-)

i'm using the monomulator which allows for switching (and has midi note mode and fader mode) but unfortunately it's buggy in a way that makes it unusable to me.

unfortunalty not, everything is hard mapped, i would like a second apc myself.
I'm going to try this with the APC40 controller script by Hanz.

If this is mapped I guess I will have to re-map the user pages?
soundcloud Live 9 & Push / Reaper / Octatrack / Rytm / MicroBrute / Nord Modular G1 & G2 / Waldorf Rack Attack / Juno 60 / Monotron & Duo / SeratoDJ / Komplete 9 / OhmForce

Slightlydelic
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by Slightlydelic » Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:04 pm

Ben_Binary wrote:
Slightlydelic wrote:
glamourboy wrote:whoa!
this sounds promising. is there a way to switch between step seq mode and standard apc mode? i'm guessing no, but it would be sweet. time for a second apc :-)

i'm using the monomulator which allows for switching (and has midi note mode and fader mode) but unfortunately it's buggy in a way that makes it unusable to me.

unfortunalty not, everything is hard mapped, i would like a second apc myself.
I'm going to try this with the APC40 controller script by Hanz.

If this is mapped I guess I will have to re-map the user pages?
i would presume you would just need to shift into the user page and from their just remap the devices used to make the groove box so it works with however hanz has set up the midi for user pages.

i have been thinking of giving it ago my self, it would be awesome to just shift into the groovebox then back out for normal APC functionality.

champamoore
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:09 pm
Location: new york, new york
Contact:

Re: APC 40 Ableton Groove Box 7x step sequencers + flashy lights

Post by champamoore » Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:36 pm

this sounds totally awesome.

the question is, how do i get my apc back to standard mode when i don't need the step sequencer functions?

if this is easy to switch, it rocks. if you have to reroute everything by hand each time, not so much. is there an easy way to save the default routings first?
if you can't share it, it's not yours.
"i don't know if i'm cool or not, but i'm for real." john lee hooker

live 8 suite
XP32 pro/core2duo T6500/4GB/
ni maschine mk1(1.8.2)/edirol pcr-1

Post Reply