Die FCB1010 Die!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
murm
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:20 am
Contact:

Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by murm » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:18 am

Just wanted to let those who do not already know that Guitar Rig 4 allows Rig Kontrol 3 to be used as a MIDI Controller. Looks like there is competition to FCB1010 especially for those who use guitars with Ableton Live.

But of course FCB1010 is still darn cheap so it ain't going anywhere :) And it has two expression pedals in there for those who practically stand on the FCB1010 while performing.
--
http://www.murm.in
experimental electronica rooted in south asian chaos

mode:masters
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:32 am
Location: Sth. Australia

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by mode:masters » Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:00 am

Well on one hand that's good news, as I am expecting Komplete 6 to arrive today :)

On the other hand the FCB1010's are notoriously unreliable controllers. I've had 2 friends, one bass guitarist and one lead guitarist, break theirs in a matter of months through normal use. It seems the expression pedals stop sending out the full 128 midi values after a while and need to be re-calibrated. Only thing is, after calibration it still doesn't send the full 128 values.

They are a good entry level unit, but wouldn't recommend them in a fit.

Even though I don't personally play guitar I think that I'll invest in the Rig Kontrol anyway, seems like a solid bit of gear.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11101
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by Machinesworking » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:14 am

Only Rig Kontrol 3 though. NI couldn't be bothered to get Rig Kontrol 2 to work with MIDI. :evil:

Total love/hate relationship I have with NI, too slash and burn, I have no less than 4 discontinued plug ins of theirs on my laptop, and Rig Kontrol 2 sitting here with no ability to use with MIDI. :evil:

murm
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:20 am
Contact:

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by murm » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:05 am

@Machinesworking: Yes, that is indeed a shame. Lots of frustration over this on the NI forums too.
--
http://www.murm.in
experimental electronica rooted in south asian chaos

turrican
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: cologne, germany
Contact:

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by turrican » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:17 am

I don't get what this all got to do with the FCB? It still does work in GuitRig 4, isnt it?
Somehow the RigKontrol ist not appearing in the configure window in Live, but it's still possible to adress midi values and lock them for all presets. So what about the FCB? You can use noteOn and CC. To me its more like I can't adress a specific midichannel to GuitarRig 4. In Live+GuitRig4 I always have to choose Omni in GuitRig in order to receive midi in. Anybody got a solution?

mode:masters
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:32 am
Location: Sth. Australia

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by mode:masters » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:47 am

I'll definitley have a look at that for you when I receive Komplete 6. Should hopefully be later today (I was kind of expecting it to be there when I got home last night) :)

rozling
Posts: 1759
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by rozling » Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:54 am

Hmm nice to know.

My FCB has died of its own accord - transformer buzzes and I get tingly tangly shocks when I touch the casing :) so I'm sure I'll be in the market for a replacement in the future.

How are people finding GR4? Much improvement sound-wise over v.3?

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by UKRuss » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:09 am

The collected thoughts of some of us.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=130772

rozling
Posts: 1759
Joined: Mon May 30, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by rozling » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:18 am

Nice one!

Trip Downtown
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:59 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by Trip Downtown » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:39 pm

rozling wrote:Hmm nice to know.

My FCB has died of its own accord - transformer buzzes and I get tingly tangly shocks when I touch the casing :)
Happened to mine too. Heard about a few other cases of this as well. My shocks were a little more hurty and a little less tingly though. Kinda scary.

Atomikat
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:46 pm
Location: Elizabeth,NJ,USA and Colombia

Re: Die FCB1010 Die!

Post by Atomikat » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:49 am

I have my FCB1010 for three years now...it's like new, I also changed the chip (not the Uno but the standard) and it still works like a charm :wink: I wouldn't think of using Guitar Rig and Live without it (along with the RK1)... well, everyone uses it in a different way... the way I do...it works.

Post Reply