What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by henke » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:04 pm

crumhorn wrote:@henke. No doubt at all that Max For Live is an excellent product, and also a great achievement.

I hope you don't feel this thread is being critical of Max for Live. I thinks it's just trying to clarify certain facts. M4L is a complex product and not easily taken on board, especially by people who are not so technically oriented.

Also people (like me) probably have some specific ideas of how they would like to use M4L and are just trying to see if these ideas will be possible in the current version. It's understandable if they are a little disappointed when they find that they can't - yet.

Hi Crumhorn,
don't worry, I did not feel offended, and so does no one else who is involved in the project. I am in a special role here, since I am partly on the development side and partly a user who simply wants things to work and use them to make music. From the user perspective I can understand and support pretty much 90% of all wishes discussed here at the forum. The only difference to the 'normal' user is this: I learned during the last 10 years of involvement with Ableton, that almost nothing is simple to do in an environment as complex as Live. So I became slightly more patient...

The forum is the right place to make your specific ideas public!

Cheers, Robert

stringtapper
Posts: 6285
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by stringtapper » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:10 pm

Thanks for taking the time to talk about it at all Robert. The future is very bright for music-making with Live. :)
Unsound Designer

feyshay
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by feyshay » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:28 pm

http://www.roostmusic.com/News/category/max4live/

A nice summary and some good resource links.

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by Green Lemon » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:51 pm

So frickin' exciting what M4L is. I see Live growing into more of a backbone of a program, with a completely customizable GUI and hardware interface. Every aspect of the software will be tweakable. Its in its infancy and its already kind of cool.
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by Green Lemon » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:54 pm


Yes, you can nudge global song position. No, you cannot nudge playback position within clips.
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

Mudo
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:58 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by Mudo » Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:51 am


HeadrickProductions
Posts: 611
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:41 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by HeadrickProductions » Fri Dec 25, 2009 2:46 am

leonard wrote:bump.
tell me more what is not currently available.

i hear one cannot access the audio data in a clip slot.

this is bad. how may we overcome this?

WAIT jst a second you are telling me that in max for live, the "plugin" that always us to do anything in ableton that we can not access audio clips??? please tell me more
In a K induced Haze (the old K kind not the special K kind ), but an Asian spizz can sometimes bring me out! If ya don't get it, ya never will.

Swing like your life depends on it

ctx
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 8:13 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by ctx » Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:27 am

Green Lemon wrote:

Yes, you can nudge global song position. No, you cannot nudge playback position within clips.
clip->move_playing_pos ?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:26 am

HeadrickProductions wrote:
leonard wrote:bump.
tell me more what is not currently available.

i hear one cannot access the audio data in a clip slot.

this is bad. how may we overcome this?

WAIT jst a second you are telling me that in max for live, the "plugin" that always us to do anything in ableton that we can not access audio clips??? please tell me more
Robert just explained it on the previous page.

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by hurlingdervish » Fri Dec 25, 2009 4:46 pm

pay bills


price cut is needed

JAMM
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:03 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by JAMM » Sat Dec 26, 2009 2:24 am

@Henke
so whats the future of ableton live if you don,t buy MFL? Or is MFL the future?

i get the idea that ableton now is concentrating on MFL.
i see MFL stuff that i wanted to see in live 9.

oblique strategies
Posts: 3585
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by oblique strategies » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:28 am

It won't let you alter Live's GUI, which is something I'd really like to be able to do to customize it for quad & surround work... :)

Green Lemon
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:20 pm

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by Green Lemon » Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:04 am

JAMM wrote:@Henke
so whats the future of ableton live if you don,t buy MFL? Or is MFL the future?

i get the idea that ableton now is concentrating on MFL.
i see MFL stuff that i wanted to see in live 9.


Its 2006. Robert Henke and Gerhard Behles are sitting around a round wooden table deep within the Ableton bunker in East Berlin. The concrete walls are illuminated by the harsh light of a single naked bulb overhead.


(read with thick German accents)

Robert: So Gerhard, I had this great idea. We could invent an application which allows all the users of Live to develop and extend the application. There are so many new features I would like to use but I am so tired of working with our programmers. Why not use the army of monkey Ableton fans we have at our fingertips who can develop the software for us?

Gerhard: Wow, Robert! I am always impressed by your innovative thinking, this idea really has potential. We would have nearly zero work to do for the rest of our lives. That's exactly what I've always dreamed of!

Robert: Me too! I've always imagined during these years of developing Live- if only there was some way to get somebody else to do all the work! Until now, you were that somebody, but now we will multiply that effort by thousands.

Gerhard: ...uhhhh.

Robert: So, what would be even better, we get another company to do all the develop the new application, too? What about your friends at that outfit in San Francisco, Bicycling-something?

Gerhard: Yes, wonderful. We will never have to work again!

Both: BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

--

Seriously, can you really imagine this conversation taking place? Gimme a break.

Features being developed through M4L is a good thing for everyone. Ableton can't do everything.

I am really kind of tired of people whining about this. M4L is the most courageous, innovative step a DAW could take at this moment. It is, as Robert said earlier, a very long term strategic orientation. It changes everything, from a hierarchical developer/user model to a more horizontal or networked one. What on earth is not to like? These fears that Ableton will stop developing the application are ridiculous. At most, they will decide not to concentrate on features which are already well served by M4L, and they will concentrate on other features...so what?
--
first 1k as chrysalis33rpm.

synnack
Posts: 2053
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by synnack » Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:40 pm

Outside of what has already been mentioned, I'd love the ability for the API to report where the "red box" is for hardware control patches for APC40 and Launchpad.

I built some offset logic as a workaround but native support for the red box would be a great new feature.
MBP | Live 9 Suite | Max for Live | Push | MOTU Ultralite | iPad | Analog Modular Synths | Moog Voyager
aka "Tempus3r" | Music | Blog | Twitter | Soundcloud

Image

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: What can you NOT do with MAX4Live?

Post by hurlingdervish » Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:32 pm

Green Lemon wrote: What on earth is not to like?
the price.

seriously.

Post Reply