Does Live 8 support 48-core processors??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
gtodd876
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:00 pm
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Does Live 8 support 48-core processors??

Post by gtodd876 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:59 am

-----------------------------------------------
Todd Matthews
http://www.facebook.com/mydarlingfury
http://twitter.com/mydarlingfury | http://mydarlingfury.com

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Does Live 8 support 48-core processors??

Post by tw1nstates » Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:59 pm

It's crap on anything more than a single core in comparison to other DAWs so don't hold your breath.

They'll be more interested in selling you somehting else first rather than getting it to work as efficiently as it possibly can. . .

I hope I am wrong, but hey, Sync, proper multi core usage, ability to use more than 3/4 gigs of ram and bezier curves have been talked about for years and still nothing. . .

actually scratch that, there wull probably be some way of doing it using M4l which forces you into yet another upgrade cycle and necessitates buying a £200+ piece of software. . .
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Does Live 8 support 48-core processors??

Post by djsynchro » Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:51 pm

Your music sucks because your automation has no Bezier curves.

greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: Does Live 8 support 48-core processors??

Post by greenscreens » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:03 pm

i bet that it wouldnt run THAT much faster than a dual core

Post Reply