Boss FS-5U Footswitch with Looper?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
tim_is_superduper
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: Bristol - UK

Boss FS-5U Footswitch with Looper?

Post by tim_is_superduper » Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:49 pm

Just seen this post in the support corner section:

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... oper+fs+5u

Was wondering if anyone else has had any experience of using an FS-5U with Live's Looper, particularly with a novation sl? I'm looking to get one to use with my remote sl37 just to trigger start/stop in looper. Will this work through the sl's pedal inputs? If not, anyone know how else I could hook up an fs-5u pedal to ableton?

Thanks!

Tim

ark
Posts: 1354
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Boss FS-5U Footswitch with Looper?

Post by ark » Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:55 pm

tim_is_superduper wrote: Was wondering if anyone else has had any experience of using an FS-5U with Live's Looper, particularly with a novation sl? I'm looking to get one to use with my remote sl37 just to trigger start/stop in looper. Will this work through the sl's pedal inputs?
I think it should work. An FS-5U is electrically equivalent to a sustain pedal, so you would connect it to the SL37's sustain pedal input. You may need to set the polarity switch on the pedal to match the expectation of the SL37. (You could set the SL37 to match the pedal, but that's more work)

Post Reply