Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
jon_moore
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:50 pm

Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by jon_moore » Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:14 pm

Cobbled this together from the press release. Hot, hot, hot!!!

Matthew Davidson (Stretta) has released a suite of seven Max For Live devices that are designed to work together in any combination or number of instances within a maxforlive project.

Heres’ how Davidson describes the members of the suite:

1. obo – my matrix step sequencer. usable on any monome, or even monomeless operation(!)
2. pitches – this is like polygomé without the step sequencer bits (like fourths/malbahabla for you monome-people). Transforms your monome into a playable surface.
3. polygomé 64 – I think you know what this is by now. bleep boop bleep.
4. press cafe – this version is based on press cafe 2.0 that has been redesigned and re-oriented more sensibly to make it playable with any size monome. “HEY! This makes music!” – my wife Nov 29, 2009
5. spectral display – adapted from tehn’s vu_spec, there is a version for every size monome. Drop it on a track (or more) and watchen das blinkenlites.
6. step filter – once upon a time I built a step sequencer application and used it to control a doepfer vocoder filter bank. Now the filter bank is built-in. Usable with any size monome, but limited to eight bands.
7. automatorgator – there are two versions of this plug in for the 256, the audio version is a monome-controlled pattern gate with adjustable volume levels and slew. The MIDI version generates MIDI CC and OSC messages smoothed out at a high resolution for gooey OSC goodness.

Free download from http://stretta.blogspot.com/2009/12/max ... eased.html
JM

http://leftside-wobble.blogspot.com/

MacBook Pro 2.8 (10.5.6)

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by LoopStationZebra » Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:55 am

Yeah, I posted a link to this guy's blog a little while back. Great to see the patches are now available. Hmm. Could be finally time to get M4L, lol.
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

yop44
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:02 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by yop44 » Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:38 am

Whouaw, looks awesome!
I'll be hard to wait this evening to give it a try :x
My music : Soundcloud

jon_moore
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:50 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by jon_moore » Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:51 am

yop44 wrote:Whouaw, looks awesome!
I'll be hard to wait this evening to give it a try :x
Know the feeling; I made the mistake of downloading them on a Sunday night - the next thing I Knew it was nearly 6am!
JM

http://leftside-wobble.blogspot.com/

MacBook Pro 2.8 (10.5.6)

Suicide Server
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:40 am

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by Suicide Server » Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:48 am

So does this work with the Launchpad and if what else is required ? I still cant find any info on this on the net. If it works i would even buy m4l finally.

Cheers

yop44
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:02 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by yop44 » Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:00 pm

Suicide Server wrote:So does this work with the Launchpad and if what else is required ? I still cant find any info on this on the net. If it works i would even buy m4l finally.

Cheers
If not, you'll need Monome emulator,
Nonome : http://post.monome.org/comments.php?Dis ... 245&page=1
or
NomePad (M4L patcher): http://max4live.info/content/nomepad-monome-emulator

:)
My music : Soundcloud

Suicide Server
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:40 am

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by Suicide Server » Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:50 pm

yop44 wrote:
Suicide Server wrote:So does this work with the Launchpad and if what else is required ? I still cant find any info on this on the net. If it works i would even buy m4l finally.

Cheers
If not, you'll need Monome emulator,
Nonome : http://post.monome.org/comments.php?Dis ... 245&page=1
or
NomePad (M4L patcher): http://max4live.info/content/nomepad-monome-emulator

:)
Thanks yop,

guess its time to buy M4L after all.

Cheers

doremifa
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:30 am

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by doremifa » Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:44 pm

we need Launch Pad 256! (or I would name it "16 squared")

The Northern Contingent
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by The Northern Contingent » Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:56 pm

I've been looking everywhere for Stretta's Maxforlive Monome Suite to download but his blog has been closed. Is there anywhere else I could get it from?

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by 3dot... » Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:45 pm

hope he doesn't mind :

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/639447/maxforli ... e%20r2.zip

....hmmm... it's a shame he closed the blog.. I quite liked it..
Image

The Northern Contingent
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by The Northern Contingent » Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:15 am

Thanks for this - you're a star! I've just got a launchpad and I'm trying to understand the whole monome emulation thing. Hopefully with NOMEpad these should work?

swishniak
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by swishniak » Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:35 am

Thanks - ive been looking for a couple of these in M4L form!

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by 3dot... » Sun Sep 12, 2010 1:05 pm

I use a stripped down version of monomeemu
(set to work with 1 Launchpad)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/639447/%21yl_mo ... _slim.amxd

and heres' a debugged version of the full patch ...
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/639447/%21yl_mo ... x_btns.adv

cheers... have fun !
Image

Zoosh
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:42 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by Zoosh » Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:16 pm

I'm struggling to follow the instructions (video included) to get monomeemu and the OBO patch working with my new launchpad. the LP initialises ok and I can navigate using the arrow keys, but I get no midi input/output on the lauchpad when playing. It could be down to the autoconfig as my version of obo doesn't seem to have the prefix box appear as per Stretta's vid for the routing???

Should I be running touchOSC or another Max runtime behind all this? I got polygome running ok, but am keen to get the nonome and monomeemu patches running.

Boy is this M4L frustrating for non developer type like me. Someone should post a how to guide to the whole system, its way too vague and assumes you know the internal workings of Max and M4L way too much :-(

HELP?

The Northern Contingent
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Hot Monome stuff for MaxForLive - No Monome required!

Post by The Northern Contingent » Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:25 pm

Zoosh wrote:I'm struggling to follow the instructions (video included) to get monomeemu and the OBO patch working with my new launchpad. the LP initialises ok and I can navigate using the arrow keys, but I get no midi input/output on the lauchpad when playing. It could be down to the autoconfig as my version of obo doesn't seem to have the prefix box appear as per Stretta's vid for the routing???

Should I be running touchOSC or another Max runtime behind all this? I got polygome running ok, but am keen to get the nonome and monomeemu patches running.

Boy is this M4L frustrating for non developer type like me. Someone should post a how to guide to the whole system, its way too vague and assumes you know the internal workings of Max and M4L way too much :-(

HELP?
Yes - I'm having the same problems as you by the sounds of it and am also a non-developer. Any help would be much appreciated!

Post Reply