Good open source/free website editor?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
djsynchro

Good open source/free website editor?

Post by djsynchro » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:15 pm

Is there something that can do what for example Dreamweaver does? I want to make something fairly simple but WYSIWYG would be best.

Angstrom

Re: Good open source/free website editor?

Post by Angstrom » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:23 pm

if you are comparing solutions with Dreamweaver and are after a simple outcome I would suggest you just choose one of the popular CMS systems like wordpress /Expression Engine (or similar). Then pick a skin and edit it a bit.

Most solutions similar to Dreamweaver put out nasty code that's unpleasant to update.
Better off having a tidy templated CMS site that's easy to update and comes with lots of 3rd party support and add-ons.

I'm a web developer by day

Hertz SM

Post by Hertz SM » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:27 pm

+1 for the easy way. tried posterous.com recently and it's quite charming due to its simple usage. Just send a mail to [yourblog]at.posterous.com and the headline will become your article headline and the mail text your message. Included attachments will be...you guess it...attached. Brilliant.

ze2be

Post by ze2be » Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:44 pm

Im fooling around with wordpress. It seems like a nice system. Ive tried out a ton of templates.. They have all different building interfaces. The ones that looks the best are usually the most difficult to modify, with text based configurations all the way. And I don't understand much of that unfortunately. Some of them have really nice and helpful configuration menus, but they usually lack a lot of futures that I want.

djsynchro

Post by djsynchro » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:55 pm

Angstrom wrote:if you are comparing solutions with Dreamweaver and are after a simple outcome I would suggest you just choose one of the popular CMS systems like wordpress /Expression Engine (or similar). Then pick a skin and edit it a bit.