Boss effects as plug-ins?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
LaotzeSunHammer
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:59 pm

Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by LaotzeSunHammer » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:26 am

Hi,

I'm a long-time fan of Boss effects pedals for guitar, having probably owned over a dozen over the past 15 years. It just occurred to me that it would be amazing to have these same effects at my disposal for producing with Ableton. Does anyone know of a set of plug-ins where these effects have been modeled? Google search has not yielded many leads. If someone could lead me in the right direction I'd be so happy and busy for weeks!

Cheers,
Jay

shimmy
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:06 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by shimmy » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:37 am

I can't find anything either. Is there a particular 'effect(s)' you are looking for?

FYI...I just bought IK Multimedia's Amplitube 2 download today. They slashed it 67% off plus I used my $32 Jampoints towards the purchase. So, I walked away with it for only $97 dollars! I really like this plugin. I was gonna buy Guitar Rig,but, I just couldn't pass this deal up.

LaotzeSunHammer
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:59 pm

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by LaotzeSunHammer » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:47 am

I guess I'm just looking for ANY Boss effect. I do have Guitar Rig - which is great - but I'm specifically looking for those Boss effects because the company's products hold a sentimental value for me, I'm sure you'll understand :wink:

kvitamin
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by kvitamin » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:50 am

Yah Amplitube rocks, too bad it is practically useless with ableton. It will crash the program everytime you use it.

shimmy
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:06 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by shimmy » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:53 am

LaotzeSunHammer wrote:I guess I'm just looking for ANY Boss effect. I do have Guitar Rig - which is great - but I'm specifically looking for those Boss effects because the company's products hold a sentimental value for me, I'm sure you'll understand :wink:

Ok, gotcha!

kvitamin, I haven't had one crash yet.But, if it does, I'll come back here and surely makes noise about it!

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by outershpongolia » Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:01 am

kvitamin wrote:Yah Amplitube rocks, too bad it is practically useless with ableton. It will crash the program everytime you use it.
k'd? :mrgreen:

shatzer
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:37 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by shatzer » Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:02 am

kvitamin wrote:Yah Amplitube rocks, too bad it is practically useless with ableton. It will crash the program everytime you use it.
Wow. I've ran over 8 instances of Amplitube in one session flawlessly. (Ableton 7)

TheEclectic
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:26 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by TheEclectic » Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:04 am

I would also like to have the Boss pedals as VST's - especially the Boss GT-10 or even some of the Roland VG presets.

Audiffex has a nice array of pedals that can be used as VST plugins. Their inTone GuitarPro comes with a VST plugin to play the presets within Live, or the 'Effects Pedals' lets you load and chain the different pedals individually. http://www.audiffex.com/

I use Audiffex and Guitar Rig 4 in Live and have not had any issues. Even though it is harder to customize, I prefer Audiffex GuitarPro over Guitar Rig, especially for augmenting acoustic guitar.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by leedsquietman » Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:05 am

AFAIK there are no licensed software plugins of Boss FX, except UAD's CE-1 chorus.

What there are are a plethora of guitar software emulating amps and cabs with various pedal type FX as inserts, such as Guitar Rig 4, Amplitube, Waves GTR, Peavey Revalver and other hardware/software combos such as Podfarm etc.

These can be really good, but they don't fully capture the essence of micing up an amplifier fed by a pedal board etc.

What you DO NOT want to do is run your Boss FX unit DI into your audio interface unless you have some type of speaker sim software (such as the ones above or others), the sound of a DS-1 di'ed without further speaker sim processing sounds like total mush.

People's mileage varies with Amplitube but it has been known as problematic with a large proportion of Live users (and other IK multimedia software too). This doesn't mean everyone experiences problems though. I have Guitar Rig 2 and upgraded to GR4 and I like it a lot, although it still has it's weaknesses as they all do. (stability not one of them). Unlike the last poster, I think GR excels at clean tones and it's piezo acoustic simulations rule IMHO.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by Winterpark » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:38 am

if you have the actual pedals still...

why don't you create an external audio effect, and use the real thing!
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

Kent_in_CO
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:45 pm

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by Kent_in_CO » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:40 am

Dude, I've always wondered what a bass or synthline would sound like through my old Metal Zone. I'm gonna have to dust that bad boy off and give it a shot!
Hong Kong: 2050 A.D. You're about to inject a dose of mind-altering nanobots. This is the soundtrack to your trip. https://seven7hwave.bandcamp.com/album/cyberia

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by Johnisfaster » Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:03 am

Kent_in_CO wrote:Dude, I've always wondered what a bass or synthline would sound like through my old Metal Zone. I'm gonna have to dust that bad boy off and give it a shot!
I've had an urge to buy another metal zone just for that purpose.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by outershpongolia » Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:44 am

Bass line thru a metal zone sounds like some Sound Tribe, I know murph has some sort of distortion he likes to throw in there for some grittyness, it actually sounds pretty dope. Could be a Metal Zone for all I know..

I'm gonna bug my brother to bring home his guitar gear home so I can mess with that External Audio Plug.

alin55
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:59 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by alin55 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:30 am

am wrote:if you have the actual pedals still...

why don't you create an external audio effect, and use the real thing!
This works fine for me - I run the Boss RE20 Space Echo pedal through Live's external audio effect...

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Boss effects as plug-ins?

Post by tw1nstates » Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:25 am

kvitamin wrote:Yah Amplitube rocks, too bad it is practically useless with ableton. It will crash the program everytime you use it.

Report tht toSupport.

NI stuff needs to be updated, If youhaven't updated it then i's buggy with live.

Check with Ni also cos it somtimes is an older component (like RTAS or such) that you didn' update.

They should sort you out. . .
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

Post Reply