Akai APC 20

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Tarekith
Posts: 17600
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:34 am

It just doesn't really add anything to what the APC40 does, nor does it fit a niche based on a lower price. The only people I can see who might like it are those who like the build quality of the APC, but thought it was too big to gig with easily. And they sort of messed that up even, by going with the (arguably cheaper) faders instead of the much more versatile rotaries. I don't think they neccesarily need to compete against the Launchpad, but in that price range an 8x8 grid with 8 rotaries above it would have been far more popular. IMVHO.

badguy#5
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:12 am

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by badguy#5 » Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:36 am

its not that bad i just got an apc 40 and already have a launchpad but if i didnt have either and the price was right maybe

MrH
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by MrH » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:36 am

If the faders were replaced by 3 endless encoders (like the apc40 pots) for each channels then this would be genius.
Live 8 I 13" Macbook Aluminium I Akai APC 40 I Korg PadKontrol

www.ozgoode.com
www.twitter.com/ozgoode

Dr Dub
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:20 pm

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by Dr Dub » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:45 am

i wonder if there will be perhaps a way to attach the apc 20 to the left side of an apc 40, so you basically have an apc 40 with 16 channels... that would make sense
Live Suite 9 - MBPR 15 - NI Komplete Audio 6 - Push - Brain - Hands - Melodica

Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by Zeddy » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:57 am

Dr Dub wrote:i wonder if there will be perhaps a way to attach the apc 20 to the left side of an apc 40, so you basically have an apc 40 with 16 channels... that would make sense
Create Digital Music's article suggests that there may be come kind of 'Combination Mode' for using the two together
Instead, it seems that Akai hopes you’ll buy the APC20 as a companion to your APC40, for, uh, 60 worth of APC. (I think we have a new unit of measure.) With what Akai calls “Combination mode,” you can add the 40 and 20 together for control of 80 buttons and 16 tracks. In Akai’s press release, it also seems that Akai thinks customers might add an APC20 to an existing rig with other gear — though that puts it in competition with the Novation Launchpad for the same job.
Now whether this means you will have a single navigation box in Live (16x5) for your clips or two different ones (one for each with 8x5 each) I would like to know...it would be awesome if you were using both and you got one big 16x5 navigation box

Freekster
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:33 pm

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by Freekster » Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:13 am

Dr Dub wrote:i wonder if there will be perhaps a way to attach the apc 20 to the left side of an apc 40, so you basically have an apc 40 with 16 channels... that would make sense
How many actually need 16faders on stage?
Non-motorized faders are quite useless in studio mixing. I don't need even 8 faders on stage. 4 is enough even if I have more tracks than 4. I just have no need to have volume control on those.
Studio: Macbook Pro, Live 8 Suite, Plugins, Apple Logic Pro, MicroKONTROL, Nocturn, Motu UltraLite, iPad B Truth monitors.
Stage: MBP, Live, MicroKONTROL, iPad, UltraLite.

New EP out as free download: http://music.bubblescum.com
Bubble Scum Homepage
Bubble Scum Facebook

heavensdaw
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: inbetween the inbetween

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by heavensdaw » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:02 am

djsynchro wrote:Holy shit is there ANYBODY who likes the APC-20? Akai have got a stinker on their hands....
I thought it was the Launchpad that stank! :lol:

Hd

willdahbe
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:35 am

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by willdahbe » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:35 am

If i had enough gusto i would build 4 units.

-one being a 4x4 grid of endless encoders w/ led's
-two bing a 4x8 grid of endless encoders w/ leds
-three being 4x4 grid of 270 degree pots with pop up light on top
-four bing 8x8 grid of 270 degree pots with pop up light on top

what the hell?

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by 3phase » Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:34 am

Dr Dub wrote:i wonder if there will be perhaps a way to attach the apc 20 to the left side of an apc 40, so you basically have an apc 40 with 16 channels... that would make sense
true.. maybe in a few month?
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by esky » Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:33 pm


orge
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:57 am

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by orge » Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:11 pm

Tarekith wrote:
McQ714 wrote:i think they fell short of one-upping the Launchpad. it may be slightly easier to get around the sends and panning using the faders instead of the buttons on the LP, but i think they should've done away with the faders in favor of knobs with LED feedback. they could've kept the unit the same size and it would've had enough real estate for an 8x8 grid.
My thoughts exactly.
I don't own either the launchpad or APC40 and have been considering one or the other to add to my existing rig. This may still be in with a chance, but the unit described above would have been a hands-down winner - 8x8 grid + some LED rotaries.

Unfortunately, Akai would probably have shied away from this design due to cannibalisation of APC40 sales; by offering a larger grid and too much functional overlap. I guess they figure this is the lesser of two evils, but I agree that it's not the evolutionary step that would have competed with the launchpad head-on.

J

ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by ze2be » Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:56 pm

orge wrote:I don't own either the launchpad or APC40 and have been considering one or the other to add to my existing rig. This may still be in with a chance, but the unit described above would have been a hands-down winner - 8x8 grid + some LED rotaries.

Unfortunately, Akai would probably have shied away from this design due to cannibalisation of APC40 sales; by offering a larger grid and too much functional overlap. I guess they figure this is the lesser of two evils, but I agree that it's not the evolutionary step that would have competed with the launchpad head-on.

J
I like the size ratio between the Monome and Launhpad:
Image
2 of those Monomes wont take up much more space then 1 Launchpad! Id love a Launchpad device with smaller buttons like the Monome. Its possible to cram lot more tracks and clips into a box with smaller buttons. And it would be an excellent studio daw controller. For the studio I need at least 16 tracks and 8 rows. When going Live, 8 tracks is more then enough. So im thinking 2 in the studio, and just bring 1 of them to the gig.. 2 besides each other under the studio screen is a pretty dam nice daw controller for Live!

the APC is such a sweet device, but the largest bottle neck by far is the tiny 8x5 grid.

Small buttons like the Monome, and its possible to cram 8X16 buttons on a rellativly small size. And there should be space to fit 2 x 8 knobs at the bottom. Yet still be smaller then an APC40. Ad a touch strip upwards between each tracks row of buttons, for smooth fade transitions. Dream on... :D :D :D :D :D :D

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by Allan A.Live » Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:31 am

What i ask myself is: if you add the apc 20 beside to the 40, will you have 16 or 17 channels total, how will the second masterchannel located on the apc 20 work?

purpurkatten
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:09 am

Re: Akai APC 20

Post by purpurkatten » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:15 am

IP wrote:how difficult is to make this shit?
rotary version with endless encoders/vertical feedback

Image
I would buy this one, sized 20x30 cm.


Post Reply