my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by 3dot... » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:41 pm

have one clip set to 1 bar quantize...(your starting clip)
copy this clip to another slot...

on the second clip (the playing/stopping unquantized clip)..
enable 'legato'...and set quantization to 'none'...launch mode to 'toggle'...

use the first clip to launch on the 1 (quantized)...
then whenever ... play the second clip
(because it's 'legato' the audio will keep playing seemlessly)
then...
whenever you want to stop hit the second clip again(unquantized)...
Image

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:00 pm

3dot... wrote:have one clip set to 1 bar quantize...(your starting clip)
copy this clip to another slot...

on the second clip (the playing/stopping unquantized clip)..
enable 'legato'...and set quantization to 'none'...launch mode to 'toggle'...

use the first clip to launch on the 1 (quantized)...
then whenever ... play the second clip
(because it's 'legato' the audio will keep playing seemlessly)
then...
whenever you want to stop hit the second clip again(unquantized)...
There you go!

AstronautX
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:43 pm

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by AstronautX » Sun Jan 17, 2010 1:22 am

wow!!!/
3dot is so helpful/
that certainly works/
another challenge awaits
and that is figuring out how to make this happen
using only one MIDI note or key/
clips that are in the same column can't be assigned
to the same MIDI note or key right?/

anyway thanks for the assistance there 3dot/

AstronautX
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:43 pm

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by AstronautX » Sun Jan 17, 2010 1:39 am

@lo-fi
it is just out of habit and i don't
even notice it unless someone brings it to my attention!
i'll not put slash at end every time.
it's a start right!

Silence
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by Silence » Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:54 am

lo-fi: thats why i asked if he was a rapper... i´ve noticed that rappers often do that to signify a new line or what ever they might call it... it seems to be a rapper thing. i´ve noticed rappers from different "cultures" use this same method


AstronautX: if im wrong about it i apologize for making an assumption which might not apply to u
MBP - Ultralite MK3 - Genelec 8020 & 8030 - BCR2000 - padKONTROL - NordRack 2

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by UKRuss » Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:04 am

I am once again ready to accept and consider questions this morning.

Go!

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Re: my first post please be kind just got launchpad questions

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:59 pm

UKRuss wrote:I am once again ready to accept and consider questions this morning.

Go!
:D

Post Reply