APC6000

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: APC6000

Post by JuanSOLO » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:47 pm

paradiddle wrote:looks awesome but $200 or euros is unrealistic.

Maybe so, but it would definatley keep the grilfriend in check AND make M4L devices I tell it too via speach recognition.

halley
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:48 am

Re: APC6000

Post by halley » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:51 pm

I've often seen the words potentiometers and encoders used
in the same context and/or with the same meaning, but I do not
have the kind of technical knowledge to argue... sure that
julien and some others know it better.
Whatever, what's with all this hate for endless potentiometers...
ehm sorry encoders :)
if you want to control many parameters and avoid jumps
endless encoders, motorized faders and touch strips/interfaces
are the only ways (...that I know of, but I'll love to learn about something else).
Sure there are a lot of situation where potentiometers (so... non endless)
have a good use: when you often use a single instrument, when you have built
a specific patch, when you 'auto-impose' certain song-set structures in your
workflow, when you have already built a song and you know which are the
parameters you will use more often on stage... still, even in these situations
you often experiment with different parameters and controls until you
reach the setup you want... and in these situations where you are exploring
endless encoders are still more useful then fixed ones, don't you think?

Somebody says that it's about feeling the end of the rotation, but even if
the endless rotation goes on, the controlled parameter doesn't go over the maximum
value you've established for it, so what difference does it make anyway?

Personally, I prefer to use the APC when I'm building a set, choosing devices and parameters,
patching in Max/M4L... even if I'm 100% sure sometimes I'll be forced to use the UC33.


Whatever...
It's a pity that Doepfer's Drehbank and PocketDial are no longer around.




And returning to JuanSOLO Mega-Controller Rendering...
Where is the Jog-Wheel? :lol:

@McQ714
With all those buttons you don't really need dedicated bank-select buttons.
In many other controllers (like novation's launchpad and zero_sl_mk2)
the arrow buttons are inside other groups of buttons.
About the audio I agree that it doesn't necessarily have to be integrated with the controller,
it's also true that some of the designs where it's actually integrated are not that bad.
Korg Zero series, despite being substantially a flop, wasn't so bad as an idea.
Some DJ-mixers offer a nice integration between analog audio, digital audio (=interface)
and offer midi control as well. Audio interfaces are now being integrated also most of the
new home-studio dedicated analog mixers, although midi hasn't fully entered enough there yet.

beatpoet
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:39 am
Location: Galway

Re: APC6000

Post by beatpoet » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:59 pm

Don't let Akai made it, it'll be US$399 or €999 :|

Lauchpad6000 sounds better to me.

wildcon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: APC6000

Post by wildcon » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:07 pm

Lauchpad6000 sounds better to me.
+1 :)
MacBook Pro, High Sierra, Live 10, Logic Pro X, Komplete 12, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.

jamief
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:50 pm
Location: Awakend

Re: APC6000

Post by jamief » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:31 pm

I,m in i would like one :)
Also Ableton seing as your looking i,m also looking for launchpad 256 and if you really could a 512 version as well please :D

WaveRider
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: APC6000

Post by WaveRider » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:04 pm

auto-lock wrote:wish it were true!!! great design!
yeah I love the step sequencer! awesome design congrats

WaveRider
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: APC6000

Post by WaveRider » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:08 pm

n8sum wrote: Even then all these could hold their own as independent devices.
true since I already have the apc and a kontrolpad give me the step sequencer stand alone please!

no joke, I have been waintng for a XoX style step sequencer/usb controller for so long I bought a monomachine instead

Fieldy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:01 am

Re: APC6000

Post by Fieldy » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:47 pm

really wicked !!!!!
but i wonder that no one of you guys asks for a lcd display. the best on my novation remote is the display, especially when u use a lot of plugins i think a display witth the parametersnames listet is quite important.

aqua_tek
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: APC6000

Post by aqua_tek » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:49 pm

I'd hit that

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: APC6000

Post by JuanSOLO » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:08 pm

aqua_tek wrote:I'd hit that

WORD!

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: APC6000

Post by JuanSOLO » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:11 pm

I didn't put a lot of fetures like touch screen, LCD's, cup holder, jog wheel, etc.. just because I don't use them much.


Eventually I will make a spoof Midi Controller with EVERYTHING!!!

But first I will actually design something I want to build. A new console, and then a 32step seq.


This post has been fun to watch, as well as many others :P

#1thelark
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: APC6000

Post by #1thelark » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:56 pm

Really nice layout, should be fun to use, BUT: wouldn't it be a pain in the ass having to solder that stepseq? Imho the next big thing will be multitouch, so if you would integrate a small multitouch lcd instead of the stepsequencer the whole layout will be much easier to fit it, also xy pad and that touch encoder would not be necessary. It will need a proper API from Apple or MS, though. With that you could design your own interface very easily.... 22" inch multitouch lcds are already available for around 330 Euros, smaller ones should be cheaper and fit in the design concept.

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: APC6000

Post by julienb » Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:03 pm

halley wrote:I've often seen the words potentiometers and encoders used
in the same context and/or with the same meaning, but I do not
have the kind of technical knowledge to argue... sure that
julien and some others know it better.
Whatever, what's with all this hate for endless potentiometers...
ehm sorry encoders :)
if you want to control many parameters and avoid jumps
endless encoders, motorized faders and touch strips/interfaces
are the only ways (...that I know of, but I'll love to learn about something else).
Sure there are a lot of situation where potentiometers (so... non endless)
have a good use: when you often use a single instrument, when you have built
a specific patch, when you 'auto-impose' certain song-set structures in your
workflow, when you have already built a song and you know which are the
parameters you will use more often on stage... still, even in these situations
you often experiment with different parameters and controls until you
reach the setup you want... and in these situations where you are exploring
endless encoders are still more useful then fixed ones, don't you think?

Somebody says that it's about feeling the end of the rotation, but even if
the endless rotation goes on, the controlled parameter doesn't go over the maximum
value you've established for it, so what difference does it make anyway?

Personally, I prefer to use the APC when I'm building a set, choosing devices and parameters,
patching in Max/M4L... even if I'm 100% sure sometimes I'll be forced to use the UC33.
about potentiometers vs encoders.
I'm using pots for:
- tracks volume
- tracks send/return ratio
- sends FX tweaking
- and macros

macros are interesting because: I only have 1 pot already map to a macro.
the variable part is the mapping between the macro and the parameters inside chains.
sometimes it deals with a decay, other time with freq/Q of a filter etc.

indeed, I don't have the value-jumping problem cause of the structure of my liveset and the manner I'm using the pots.

macros + pots work well together :)

squelcht
Posts: 1896
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:38 am
Location: QC, NC
Contact:

Re: APC6000

Post by squelcht » Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:44 pm

Awesome 8) Its funny---I was just imagining of a super modified APC controller the other day & was visualizing there being a 64 step sequencer built in...And now I see this with a 32 step & Im all like BADASS :D

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: APC6000

Post by julienb » Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:55 pm

squelcht wrote:Awesome 8) Its funny---I was just imagining of a super modified APC controller the other day & was visualizing there being a 64 step sequencer built in...And now I see this with a 32 step & Im all like BADASS :D
step sequencer built in could be nice.
I'd really prefer to have it in a m4L patch.
the hardware only would need to handle leds, encoders and buttons
it would be cheaper!!!

Post Reply