Dual Core or Quad Core? Is Multicore worth it?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Dual Core or Quad Core? Is Multicore worth it?

Post by McQ714 » Sun May 23, 2010 6:29 pm

i also use a Phenom II, but it's not necessarily a budget thing. there are just some things that AMD seems to be doing right. i'd really like to see how those new 12-core CPUs do with Live since it's got 12 physical cores not 6 cores with 12 threads. i'll be upgrading my rig later this year i think with a new AM3 mobo, some DDR3 RAM, and a 6-core CPU. probably gonna build an entirely new system actually... but i'm definitely staying with AMD!

prr
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual Core or Quad Core? Is Multicore worth it?

Post by prr » Fri May 27, 2011 10:57 pm

how do you disable hyperthreading in windows 7 64 bit when it's not even an option in my BIOS on the advanced tab? I know it's enabled because my quadcore is showing 8 processors, and does anyone know for sure if this will help Ableton run better and have a lower cpu load??
PRR
http://www.facebook.com/PRRdubstep
http://soundcloud.com/poor-ragged-rascal
http://www.blackmarketfunk.com

Laptop Asus N53SV-XE1
Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Live 8.2.2
Intel Core i7-2630QM @2.00GHz quad core
12 GB RAM
NI Audio Kontrol 1
7200 Drive

Gaetano CAPUANO
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: Dual Core or Quad Core? Is Multicore worth it?

Post by Gaetano CAPUANO » Sat May 28, 2011 2:13 pm

I have an wn7 I5 and it runs Live very good, as well as Amplitube3 and other Vst's
http://www.customguitarloops.com
Need Guitar or Bass tracks for your project? Message me and lets work that out
Image

Post Reply