Porting from a PC to MAC

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
starfckr
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:05 pm
Contact:

Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by starfckr » Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:06 am

Hi Guys,


I am planning to converting from a PC based ableton system, to a MAC based ableton system, and i have some question i was hoping some of you could shed some light on.

Are my projects which has been made on the PC based system, easy transferable to the MAC system?
Is there an easy way to transfer all of my settings?
Is VST instruments the same for PC and MAC? Or do i need new files for the VST instruments?

Any other helpful advice, or tips&tricks would be greatly appriciated!

Rabalder
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by Rabalder » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:46 am

I switched from pc to mac about a year ago. Cant remember any trouble..

supamonsta
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: The Lounge
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by supamonsta » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:49 am

Are my projects which has been made on the PC based system, easy transferable to the MAC system?
yes. nothing special to do.
Is there an easy way to transfer all of my settings?
what settings?
Is VST instruments the same for PC and MAC? Or do i need new files for the VST instruments?
you need to install mac versions of your VSTs. Just visit the websites, login, and download the mac files. Or email them if it's not available that way. The cracked VSTs you'll need either to buy, or search for cracked mac versions :lol:

Welcome to the iProduct world bro'

cheers

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by djsynchro » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:57 am

Take it to the Apple store, they Apple care for you. Someone will massage your neck while-u-wait :D

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by SubFunk » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:00 pm

only issue might be that certain plugs you use now are not available as mac versions...

i would check that first and then bounce all old projects or the parts of the plugs that you can't 'move' over to the mac down (convert to real audio), otherwise if you open any older projects those plugs and their effect (that might be vst instruments in the worst case) want be available...

and welcome to the awesomeness of OSX. i am sure you want ever look back.
*** Image GAFM ***

divinio
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:43 am

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by divinio » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:37 pm

I just received my new iMac "27 yesterday and I'm having a little question.

I've installed Ableton with no problem at all. Installed the Korg Legacy as AU but it doesn't show up in my devices. Something I'm doing wrong here? Does it work differently then VST's?

Do you have to install all your softsynths in the same folder as I did with VST's?

Greeting from a happy new Mac owner! :D

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by SubFunk » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:02 pm

the install path for plugs in mac is the following:

macintosh->user->library->audio->plugins and

macintosh->system->library->audio->plugins

in both paths you will find VST and Component folders, the VST folder is for VSTs and the component folder is for AUs

if you used the legacy installer it most likely will have put the AUs into the system path... you can check that by following the two paths i wrote
and check the Component folders...

you need to activate the use of either AUs or VSTs or both in lives preferences...

a little tip, they should work in both, it is only a matter of you deciding in which of the two to install them... but for some reason a very few plugs don't like one of those two paths... try to swap them.

btw, i am not sure... but is the legacy collection UB ? (Universal Binary)
*** Image GAFM ***

starfckr
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by starfckr » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Thanks for the advice guys! I am feeling more secure about the switchover already.
Just have to get a hold of the mac versions of some of the more obscure VST`s, but that should be okay.

Will be great to finally swith my music over the a MAC, which i have been hesitating for the last two years :)

supamonsta
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: The Lounge
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by supamonsta » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:00 pm

your music will get really much more warm and analoguish sounding,

bravo for the switch :wink:

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by SubFunk » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

monstrejumo wrote:your music will get really much more warm and analoguish sounding
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
*** Image GAFM ***

sacredgeometry
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:10 am

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by sacredgeometry » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:07 pm

monstrejumo wrote:your music will get really much more warm and analoguish sounding,

bravo for the switch :wink:
Ill take that as a joke haha
Peace + Hugs

Brian

supamonsta
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: The Lounge
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by supamonsta » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:16 pm

the "warm and analoguish" part of my post is indeed a joke,

the "bravo for the switch" is for real :D

divinio
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:43 am

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by divinio » Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:30 pm

SubFunk wrote:
btw, i am not sure... but is the legacy collection UB ? (Universal Binary)
euhm... what are you talking about?

thanks already for the rest of the info SubFunk. I'm going to install my softs now

divinio
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 8:43 am

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by divinio » Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:58 pm

I know wath UB is about now but I couldn't find any solutions on the Korg website...

And I was thinking that there weren't any VST for mac but that they were AU instead...

Need to learn a few things about my Mac :)

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Porting from a PC to MAC

Post by SubFunk » Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:11 pm

a mac can use both VSTs (mac versions) and AUs, AUs are specific to mac and make sense to use if you are running (or intended in the future) another audio software such as logic, that only accepts AUs... except the preset handling there is no real difference between those 2 formats, in some cases however the one or other performs a little bit differently...

i personally like to stick to AUs as much as i can... because i use logic next to live and can use then all my 3rd party plugs in both applications.

hope that helps.
*** Image GAFM ***

Post Reply