Sid VST synth?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Sid VST synth?

Post by ze2be » Fri Feb 12, 2010 3:05 am

I was looking for some Packman sounds. Not much to find, so what the hell why not make them!

Im looking for a simple one page SID vst synth with a good filter and easy assignable LFO.

QuadraSid is just hopeless to work with.
Out of frustration I went ahead and bought a hardware SID synth (with a great vst interface) a while back, but it didn't work.
The software that came with it would have been the perfect VST:
http://www.hypersynth.com/hypersid.html

parma
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:14 am

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by parma » Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:34 am


MartinOM28V
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:08 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by MartinOM28V » Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:57 am

iMac 3.4 GHz i7 12GB/Apogee Duet 2/Event ASP8/AKAI MPK61/Ableton Suite 8/Logic Pro 9/Waves Platinum/Komplete 7/Amplitube 3/Omnisphere/Stylus RMX/Trilian

andrewbrewer
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by andrewbrewer » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:16 am

u know i've been looking for something similar. i too did not care for quadrasid interface, but teh sound rocked. plogue's product looks similar. i'm sure the sound is there, but it's a tab synth.

what's odd is that there are these great freebie's out there, such as magic8bit mentioned earlier, as well as VOPM and Chip32, and i think what they get right, what makes me use again and again is the 1-page, simple interface. 8bit doesn't even have an interface right? ha.

m:o
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 1:48 am
Location: Dreiländereck
Contact:

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by m:o » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:20 am

here's another freebee, to the other excellent one
already mentioned:
http://www.delamancha.co.uk/basic.htm
(if it sound too wonky with it's unstable osc's
- you can turn osc wobble off;-)
4770K/Live9Suite/Max4Live/Push/RME UFX/NordModularG2X/Machinedrum SPS1 UW/Elektron Analog Four/MBase11/Adam A7X

http://soundcloud.com/sphereandlowthing

ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by ze2be » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:20 pm

One goes to work, comes back, and shabam: Santa Clause just been around!

Sweet, thanks guys! :D

d-track
Posts: 640
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by d-track » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:33 pm

pacman not packman.
quadrasid is the best whats your problem with that?
*-*

andrewbrewer
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by andrewbrewer » Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:57 am

m:o <-- sweet links, bro

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by djsynchro » Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:32 am

ze2be wrote: but it didn't work.
Did it have the SID chip in it? A lot of these SID synths assume you will pull one out of a second hand C64 yourself. You should be able to get one for around $15 or so

ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by ze2be » Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:10 am

djsynchro wrote:
ze2be wrote: but it didn't work.
Did it have the SID chip in it? A lot of these SID synths assume you will pull one out of a second hand C64 yourself. You should be able to get one for around $15 or so
It was broken. They told me to just get a new chip and fix it myself. Apparently it burns easily. To be honest, im just to lazy, plus I have a ton of other projects standing in line which are more important.

I might be lucky this summer though. A synth nerd buddy from Denmark is coming over a few days to an outdoor festival were doing. I hope he can camp out at my place a few days, as im shore he would fix it in no time. :D

But aren't these synth algorithms easy to duplicate with software vsts? Quadra Sid sounds pretty good to me..


...of to work, back later..

dum
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:51 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by dum » Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:53 pm

the audio demos for plogue's ''chipsounds'' are amazing. It's a samples/synth hybrid...
no sign of a vst demo though :(

chipsounds ep: http://soundcloud.com/chipsounds/sets/chipsounds-ep
Pasha wrote:Thanks dum for being so precise.

Ben_Binary
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by Ben_Binary » Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:47 pm

QuadraSid is good. shame about the interface.

http://refx.com/?lang=en&page=products/ ... ID/summary
soundcloud Live 9 & Push / Reaper / Octatrack / Rytm / MicroBrute / Nord Modular G1 & G2 / Waldorf Rack Attack / Juno 60 / Monotron & Duo / SeratoDJ / Komplete 9 / OhmForce

ze2be
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Europe

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by ze2be » Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:30 am

Ben_Binary wrote:QuadraSid is good. shame about the interface.
http://refx.com/?lang=en&page=products/ ... ID/summary
Yes. Id love it if it had a simple one page gui like the Hyper SID:

Image

dum
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:51 pm

Re: Sid VST synth?

Post by dum » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:35 pm

dum wrote:the audio demos for plogue's ''chipsounds'' are amazing. It's a samples/synth hybrid...
no sign of a vst demo though :(

chipsounds ep: http://soundcloud.com/chipsounds/sets/chipsounds-ep

Hmm! There's a vst demo available now

announcement here: http://www.plogue.com/
download here: http://www.plogue.com/?page_id=274

lookin forward to checkin this out later
Pasha wrote:Thanks dum for being so precise.

Post Reply