Does this live set crash live for you?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
juncmodule
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Contact:

Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by juncmodule » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:55 am

EDIT:

DOWNLOAD REMOVED.

It is a MIDI feedback problem and not a problem with the live set.

-------------------------------------------------------

If you don't trust the set here is the setup:
4 MIDI Tracks:

Track 1: Kit-808 Classic (track named 808)
Track 2: Kit-909 Classic (track named 909)
Track 3: Empty MIDI track (named 303 1)
Track 3: Empty MIDI track (named 303 1)

3 Returns:

Return A: Reverb Preset - Dark Small Room (named Reverb)
Return B: Overdrive Preset - Distort (named Distortion)
Return C: Auto Filter Preset - Cut-O-Move L (not renamed)

Master:

Compression Preset: Classical Compression
Limiter Preset: Reduce

There are no clips loaded.
Every single time I double click in one of the two 303 tracks Live freezes up.

I am running Live 8.1.1

This is my first crash with Live, ever.

I'm not looking for a fix, just trying to confirm a repeatable bug mostly.
Is there something about this setup that is part of a known bug?

I just found it interesting because it seemed to be such a simple setup. I mean...I'm emulating ReBirth here, not that complex. I'm actually guessing this is my hardware setup causing the problem and not Live.

EDIT:

heh...I started disabling stuff and it turns out that using Maschine as a control surface and routing through MIDIYoke seems to be causing the freeze. Even though Maschine isn't on, because it is in the settings it just locks up...

later,
-junc
Last edited by juncmodule on Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.

locojohn
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:42 am
Location: riga, latvia

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by locojohn » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:03 am

Doesn't crash here. Live 8.1.1 on Mac OS X 10.6.2

Andrejs
Last edited by locojohn on Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
/*
  • the basic tone of life remains the same,
    and in it there are some happy melodies
    and some sad melodies
    - sekito kisen
*/

jimyson
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by jimyson » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:12 am

No it doesn't crash. I'm using the new 8.1.2b5. Although this version does seem to crash more than the last beta so I wouldn't necessarily upgrade.

BTW, I used to live up in Cbus..visit there all the time. I hear you've gotten a bit of snow there lately.

juncmodule
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Contact:

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by juncmodule » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:30 am

I think I traced the freeze to MIDIYoke and Maschine running together. Maschine alone works fine. But when routed through MIDIYoke crashes. Seeing that MIDIYoke isn't the most frequently updated piece of software (and yet is used by so many) I can't say I'm too surprised. Although I've used it in Live a lot and never had problems. Anyone else have both of those? It seems to happen regardless of the set.

Oh, and yeah, enough snow to close the university. I got a day off of work this week because of it :)

later,
-junc

#1thelark
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by #1thelark » Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:09 am

Do you use the same midiyoke ports for in and output (midiyoke 1 in and midiyoke 1 out)? That should not be the case and could cause problems (midi feedback). Always use midiyoke 1 in and midiyoke 2 out or so to avoid crashes.
Last edited by #1thelark on Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by julienb » Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:35 am

no crash here.
I guess it is a kind of internal midi routing issue (the only difference with my setup)

Pasha
Posts: 3238
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by Pasha » Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:54 am

Sorry but can't help. Still 8.0.8 here.
This is one of the features I would like in a next version:
Ability to export in previous Live formats.
Do you have a version made with prev Live to upload?
Apple Desktop / Laptop
Live 9 Suite,Zebra 2.6,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

juncmodule
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:52 pm
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Contact:

Re: Does this live set crash live for you?

Post by juncmodule » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:00 pm

#1thelark nailed it. It is a MIDI feedback problem.

From beta 8.1.2b:
When using a MIDI surface controller it would be possible to choose invalid entries from a routing chooser which could crash Live. [6357]
That sounds like it will cover it.

Nice to know that my first crashing experience with Live will be addressed in the next version. Very cool.

Sorry Pasha, I only have 8.1.1 installed.

later,
-junc


Post Reply