Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
joewalch
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Worcester, UK

Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by joewalch » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:54 pm

I've just discovered my Remote Original has sysex in its menu. Question is how can I get the nobs and slider to send sysex to my Juno 106?

I've found the Juno 106 sysex config here http://www.hinzen.de/midi/juno-106/howto-02.html

Do I do this through Automap? Do I connect the Remote directly via midi to the Juno?

Most importantly I can'figure out how to change the settings on the remote to assign sysex commands to the pots and sliders.

sailordrift
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:42 am

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by sailordrift » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:32 pm

If you figure it out post it.

joewalch
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by joewalch » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:07 am

Well an update is that I've played around with the sysex.

For example setting up Slider 1 on the Remote to control the Sub Slider on the Juno

Using Midi Ox I get the following sysex from sliding the DCO SUB up on the Juno:

F0 41 32 00 0F 1E F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 1F F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 20 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 21 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 23 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 24 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 26 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 28 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 2A F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 2D F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 30 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 31 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 34 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 36 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 38 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 3A F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 3C F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 3D F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 3F F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 41 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 43 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 45 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 47 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 4A F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 4D F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 50 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 54 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 57 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 5A F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 5E F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 61 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 65 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 69 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 6D F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 72 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 77 F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 7F F7
F0 41 32 00 0F 7F F7

From the Juno SySex guide the format is as follows:

F0 [Begin SySex] 41 [Roland] 32 [Control Change] 00 [Midi Channel] 0F [DCO SUB] (1E-7F) [Value] F7 [end SySex]

The main problem seems to be the remote changes the value from 0-127 not 1E to 7F.

Does anyone know how to solve this?

mike_o
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Martinez

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by mike_o » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:31 am

the 1e through 7f is actually just 31 through 127, sysex counts in 8 groups of 16,

00-1
01-2
02-3
03-4
04-5
05-6
06-7
07-8
08-9
09-10
0A-11
0B-12
0C-13
0D-14
0E-15
0F-16

and then it repeats

10-17
11-18
12-19
13-20

and so on.

its a way of counting to 127 (a 3 digit number) in a 2 digit column.

so 1e through 7f should mean value 31 through 127.

do you have a remote or a remote sl mk1 or mk2 - they're a little different.

joewalch
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by joewalch » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:40 am

I have an original Remote 61.

So am I correct in using the following Settings on the Remote?

Control Name: Sub
Control Type: SySex
Display Type: 0-127
Pot/Slider Control: Jump
Low Value: 31
High Value: 127
Midi Ports U12
Sysex message: F0 41 32 00 0F F7

If I can get this licked I'll produce a template!

mike_o
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Martinez

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by mike_o » Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:16 pm

joewalch wrote:I have an original Remote 61.

So am I correct in using the following Settings on the Remote?

Control Name: Sub
Control Type: SySex
Display Type: 0-127
Pot/Slider Control: Jump
Low Value: 31
High Value: 127
Midi Ports U12
Sysex message: F0 41 32 00 0F F7

If I can get this licked I'll produce a template!
looks pretty much right to me except

"Sysex message: F0 41 32 00 0F F7" should be Sysex message: "F0 41 32 00 0F (1E-F7) F7" I think you need the "F7 (end sysex) command in there for that hardware,

you need to be going from the remote midi out direct to the hardware - if your routing this through the usb and live and then back out to the hardware sysex will be filtered and stopped by live.

bomes midi transltor is how I would generally deal with this but I dumped all sysex dependant gear a while back.

mike_o
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Martinez

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by mike_o » Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:17 pm

and automap does not support sysex, the mk1 & mk2 remote sl hardware does but the automap software does not.

joewalch
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by joewalch » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:46 am

mike_o wrote: "Sysex message: F0 41 32 00 0F F7" should be Sysex message: "F0 41 32 00 0F (1E-F7) F7" I think you need the "F7 (end sysex) command in there for that hardware,
This is a slider and I don't beleive you can put brackets in ojn the ReMote. So do I put in F0 41 32 00 0F 1E F7 F7

Dexes
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:45 pm
Location: Vienna / AT

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by Dexes » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:48 am

Won't be in my studio till monday so I currently can't check what my Juno 2 template looks like, but the software editor from my remote zero sl says:
'use "DV" to represent the control value.'
That would make it F0 41 32 00 0F DV F7

I think that's how I set it up, and then select the max an min values in the respective fields using standard 0-127.

I'd generaly recomend using the editor for creating templates. It's so much quicker just typing it in on the keyboard, and for sysex messages it tells you if the message is valid as soon as you enter it.

http://www.novationmusic.com/support/remote_sl/


PS:Just found the template sysex file, if you use the editor, you have to leave away the F0 at the beginning and the F7 at the end.

joewalch
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:28 am
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: Help with Novation > (Automap?) > Juno 106

Post by joewalch » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:23 pm

Brilliant the faders are now mapped. Thank you for your help.

It's just the switches


Apparently they are 10 & 11 for the following list:

dd control 17 Switches 1
bit 0: 16' on/off
bit 1: 8' on/off
bit 2: 4' on/off [in theory bits 0..2 are mutually-exclusive]
bit 3: Pulse on/off (1=on)
bit 4: Tri on/off (1=on)
bit 5: 0 => Chorus on
bit 6: 0 => Chorus level 2 (if on), 1=> level 1
dd control 18 Switches 2
bit 0: 0=>DCO PWM=LFO, otherwise =MAN
bit 1: 0=>VCA ENV, otherwise GATE
bit 2: 0=>VCF Polarity +, otherwise -
bit 3+4: 00 => HPF=3, 01 => HPF=2, 10 => HPF=1, 11 => HPF=0

Example:

F0 41 32 00 10 05 DV 7F

Button type Normal
Low value OFF
High value ON

I can figure out how to assign numerical values to this bit?

Post Reply