8.1.3???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Tarekith
Posts: 17431
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by Tarekith » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:59 am

Hmm, having issues switching my 8.1.3 project back to my RME card after using it on the onboard soundcard for awhile. Bug report sent.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by H20nly » Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:36 am

^ Hey let us know if you keep having issues with that... other sets etc.

I'd be down to download the beta on my laptop and further test that.

Windows 7. TC Electronic Konnekt6.

I don't record on the laptop, just mess with MIDI drums and edit sometimes, so I'd be down to help get to a better L8.

I have one track that we just finished. I'd be willing to see if I can break it, for the cause.
LoopStationZebra wrote:it's like a hipster commie pinko manifesto. Rambling. Angry. Nearly divorced from all reality; yet strangely compelling with a ring of truth.

ze2be
Posts: 3455
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by ze2be » Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:36 am

Theres a future in Tracktion since v.1: It will remember the plugs that wont work properly, and you can chose to avoid them next time a project is opened. It was a great savior at the time, and it was one of the futures that made me leave Cubase. The step from Tracktion to Live 4 was easy. But I miss this future, and a few other really smart ones.
? ? ? ? ?

Tarekith
Posts: 17431
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by Tarekith » Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:44 am

After a reboot it's working fine now.

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by Sibanger » Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:46 am

Oohhhh,

So far so good. About 6 hours in.

8.1.3 PC XP SP3

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by longjohns » Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:45 am

well hell i'm not going to read all this

surely if one was worried about a new version, they would make a copy of their sets/library, etc... and use that for trying a new release

?

DEEMUSIC
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by DEEMUSIC » Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:16 am

I've had the same issue with my vst scanning it crashes they tell me I need to find the vst that is causing the crash and I know what it is its my t-racks plugins. I have the same plugins on my laptop but i have 8.05 and I won't change it until they fix this shit man I paid alot for this program and my plugins and I can't use them. I've done all the thing tech support has told me and its the same shit and 8.1.3 is the same shit. I stopped fucking with sonar because it was unstable alot and fell in love with LIVE the first time I tried it I was hoping they would have fixed the vst issue but NO THE SAME SHIT and yes I'm pissed thats why I haven't brought MAX yet fix my VST problem and I'll think about it. WTF MAN its been almost a year now when can I get a stable LIVE 8 and tech support stop communicating with me the last time I sent a reply for help!!!!!!!!!

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by H20nly » Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:38 am

Tarekith wrote:After a reboot it's working fine now.
oh c'mon man... thats not supposed to help on a mac!
LoopStationZebra wrote:it's like a hipster commie pinko manifesto. Rambling. Angry. Nearly divorced from all reality; yet strangely compelling with a ring of truth.

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by 3phase » Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:11 am

so..after a long night i wasnt able to crash it... and i gave it a hard time..
however not without trouble.. but was running from the beginning to the end..was rather the problem that i couldnt stop it sometimes because of rainbow ball action and midi input trouble of various kinds..

dsp meter shows 50% should be probably 40-45% ..what only could be confirmed if i would be able to open the set in an older version..but behaves actualy rather like 70%

sofar my favorite version remains b4
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by UKRuss » Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:50 am

Do stillwell audio plugs work in this version anyone? none of them work in 8.1.1 :(

zeepster
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:03 pm

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by zeepster » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:03 am

Anyone using IK Multimedia T-Racks3? Want to know if they still cause crashes in 8.13!?

Ableton dev's please get it worked out with IKM.

Bionecteur
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 11:16 am
Location: Berlin/Aachen

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by Bionecteur » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:25 am

My experience so far after playing around for two hours:
(XP SP3; quad Q6700)


No chrash with Massive (was unusable in 8.09)
No peaks with Maschine
No problems with Trillion so far (shut down of audio engine after playin around in 8.09)

overall it seems to be more stable for me with less consumption...

One set with one instance of Maschine; 2 Massive; 1 Absynth5 and Reaktor (Carbon) and an warbed audioloop: 13%!!! without nasty peaks...this is a huge step for me ...hurray!
ritsch, ratsch, klick

hoffman2k
Posts: 14706
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:27 am

peez wrote:Anyone using IK Multimedia T-Racks3? Want to know if they still cause crashes in 8.13!?

Ableton dev's please get it worked out with IKM.
If you install 8.1.3 and the plugin crashes, you'll end up with a pack that tells Ableton what system you used, what you did, which plugins you used and possibly why it crashed.

jimyson
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:35 pm

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by jimyson » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:41 am

UKRuss wrote:Do stillwell audio plugs work in this version anyone? none of them work in 8.1.1 :(

A lot of my plugs didn't work in 8.1.1

but to my knowledge and quick use of the Rocket Compressor, yes since the 8.1.2 betas pretty much.

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: 8.1.3???

Post by 3phase » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:39 pm

Some people call 8.13 more lightwight.. it ctaully dont feels like that on my machine.. is that related to beta routines within the program or is the answer to the stability problem a version of L8.x that is too heavy for my little black mac book?...

would be good to know that in time
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,

Post Reply