waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
emankayker
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:17 pm

waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by emankayker » Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:01 am

Hi
I have the waves mercury and did a session with some waves in it.
Later, reopened it and didn't have the ilok, so the plugs went desactivated.
Now, back with the ilok, all the waves are activated, but the don't effect the tracks, nothing happens, they open and appear fine but they are transparent.
Any thought?
thanks
Emmanuel

raw
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by raw » Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:11 am

humm.. Try to start live without the waveshell (in components and vst folders) and, close live, put them again, restart and they should be here.

alex.the.forge
Posts: 1424
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:29 am

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by alex.the.forge » Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:24 pm

there is a bug still in Live 8 where waves plugs need to be turned off then on again after loading them into a set or loading a set with them in

just the device on/off buttons

emankayker
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by emankayker » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:44 pm

thanks, you mean just the yellow on/off button?
I think I tried that, but will check
I tried the preference folder and did a refresh, but nothing. Well, not nothing, they appear fine, open normally but nothing gets processed in it.

I still have a doubt, they are AU I guess, but the VST was turned off in the pref... well if they were VST they wouldn't appear in the plug ins folder on the left?

anybody human
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by anybody human » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:57 pm

I've found that Waves (& Fabfilter) plugins work better in Live as VST's rather than AU, so I always use those as vst's.

scientist
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:06 am
Location: seattle

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by scientist » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:02 pm

yup. it was noted somewhere in the bugs section that with 8.1.1 it is better to use vst's. i had a similar issue as the o.p. that if i opened a project w/o the ilok, then closed and reopened the project w/ ilok, all of my play au's had lost their patches.

HeadrickProductions
Posts: 611
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:41 pm

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by HeadrickProductions » Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:57 pm

scientist wrote:yup. it was noted somewhere in the bugs section that with 8.1.1 it is better to use vst's. i had a similar issue as the o.p. that if i opened a project w/o the ilok, then closed and reopened the project w/ ilok, all of my play au's had lost their patches.


where can I find the section that you are talking about that said that 8.1.1 is better to use vst's.

Thanks for the info
In a K induced Haze (the old K kind not the special K kind ), but an Asian spizz can sometimes bring me out! If ya don't get it, ya never will.

Swing like your life depends on it

raw
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by raw » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:32 pm

alex.the.forge wrote:there is a bug still in Live 8 where waves plugs need to be turned off then on again after loading them into a set or loading a set with them in

just the device on/off buttons
Yes, Waves don't support AU version for live, only VST..

alex.the.forge
Posts: 1424
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:29 am

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by alex.the.forge » Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:35 pm

raw wrote:
alex.the.forge wrote:there is a bug still in Live 8 where waves plugs need to be turned off then on again after loading them into a set or loading a set with them in

just the device on/off buttons
Yes, Waves don't support AU version for live, only VST..
Oh I didn't know they weren't actually supported.. interesting!

I actually have been using the AU versions, I just have to do that on/off thing with most of them......

emankayker
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by emankayker » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:43 pm

well this must be it, when the ilok wasn't there it turned off the vst pref, I just figured they were working as AU since they appeared fine in the list and could be inserted inside the project... live is still quite new to me, a fun program for sure, but I still have a lot to learn!
Thanks, I'll check that next time I have the ilok and some time
best
Emmanuel

scientist
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:06 am
Location: seattle

Re: waves don't work after opening a session without the ilok

Post by scientist » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:27 pm

HeadrickProductions wrote:
scientist wrote:yup. it was noted somewhere in the bugs section that with 8.1.1 it is better to use vst's. i had a similar issue as the o.p. that if i opened a project w/o the ilok, then closed and reopened the project w/ ilok, all of my play au's had lost their patches.


where can I find the section that you are talking about that said that 8.1.1 is better to use vst's.

Thanks for the info
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=133496

Post Reply