LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
ST8
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by ST8 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:26 pm

DustinZahn wrote:ST8,

I was able to get it running in Ableton. Thank you. :)

The only problem now is that it sends all data to the iPad, but I can't send anything back from iPad to the computer. The keys/drum no longer seems to work either, so it must be a midi issue.
got the right ports / hostname set in TouchOSC?

neomad
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by neomad » Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:02 pm

3rd attempt and I can not upload template from Touch OSC editor to my Iphone 3gs...

Sometimes downloads a strange name but once inside the phone, I can not see it !!!

Any suggestion ? another step by step tutorial other than livecontrol webpage ?

Thank you in advance

PS: I've tried with Puredata and device is sending messages correctly...

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by Jeroen » Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:31 am

Sorry to bother but spend two days trying to upload the live control template using touchosc editor to my iPad. I have tried default network and stand alone. I have no issues working with touchable via network but if I try to use the editor I get: connection failure / timed out messages.

Any clue what this could be. I really would like to get the sequencer from the nice live control template to work for me.

Appreciate any suggestions.
Life is made of stories not atoms

ST8
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by ST8 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:49 am

neomad wrote:3rd attempt and I can not upload template from Touch OSC editor to my Iphone 3gs...

Sometimes downloads a strange name but once inside the phone, I can not see it !!!

Any suggestion ? another step by step tutorial other than livecontrol webpage ?

Thank you in advance

PS: I've tried with Puredata and device is sending messages correctly...
Jeroen wrote:Sorry to bother but spend two days trying to upload the live control template using touchosc editor to my iPad. I have tried default network and stand alone. I have no issues working with touchable via network but if I try to use the editor I get: connection failure / timed out messages.

Any clue what this could be. I really would like to get the sequencer from the nice live control template to work for me.

Appreciate any suggestions.
are you guys on windows? windows firewall blocks the ports TouchOSC editor needs to upload the template

Jeroen
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Sarawak, Malaysia

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by Jeroen » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:00 am

mac pro quad core with Mac OS X v10.5.8
TouchOSC editor v1.4
TouchOSC 1.6.1 ipad edition
Ipad version 3.2.2

still no success. it does see the host, but no editor hosts ....

J
Life is made of stories not atoms

neomad
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by neomad » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:34 am

Sorry,

Macbook Pro 2010 2,66 4gb ram. Using Wi Fi access point TP Link. Both iphone & mbook are surfing normally in internet. I've tried puredata & osculator (demo) and there is no conflicts.
OSX firewall is disabled.

After my post I've used to get 2 errors:

1- Strange host name showed in touchosc and template name was the identical to host (again, the strange name as ep9874 or the like).

2- Last attemps were: connection time out.

Should be a silly thing but I do not know which one...
Thanks for your support ;)

neomad
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by neomad » Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:43 pm

Little stupid idea: there is no way to request Hexler people to include, by default, livecontrol template into touchosc?

ST8
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by ST8 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:42 pm

stupid suggestion: have you tried rebooting both your mac and iphone?

neomad
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by neomad » Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:22 pm

First at all, thank you for support us. It's a free add on and you work as a seller. Really appreciate your involvement.

I've sent an email to Dev (hexler) asking also for support. I really believe that being a commercial application, TouchOSC can include some of most popular templates (Livecontrol, Logic, etc. etc.) this will help Hexler people with customer support and will became a real advantage against other companies: buy your touchosc from your appstore with excluse 'ableton live control' ready ! ;)
ST8 wrote:stupid suggestion: have you tried rebooting both your mac and iphone?
It's not stupid ! indeed, did not work. Tried many times, different days. :(.

Must be a network conflict... but the most bizarre thing is: why detects host with a different name, and, download a template with same mistaking host name?

xrayfish
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:03 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by xrayfish » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:29 pm

Fuck Me! This worked straight out of the box!

(MBP and iPtouch G3)

As the forum's annoying OCD saddo would say

It (really!) just works!

Amazing!

Coupe70
Posts: 1097
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:25 am
Location: Mainz / Germany
Contact:

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by Coupe70 » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:00 am

Perhaps come network experts around here ?

As I had serious problems connecting via WiFi in different
clubs I am now trying to run it via USB. PDANet does not
work for me it seems. I can't use MyWi as my iPod Touch
refuses to show up as network device in Windows XP (it
should with jailbreak and MyWi, right ?) - even installing
the Apple Mobile Device Ethernet driver manually didn't
help, it only shows error code 10 (device can't be started)
in the device manager. Tried it on 2 laptops...

Here is what is working in parts:
I tried iTunnel together with OpenSSH on the iPhone.
It opens a tunnel on the USB connection via SSH on port 20.
I can then log in to the iPod with Putty or WinSCP and access
the file system. I can use the WiFi of the iPod to surf the
net using Firefox on my laptop. I can view the screen of the
iPod on my laptop using tightVNC. All via USB.

So there is an open connection in both directions on the cable,
but HOW CAN I GET TOUCHOSC TO TALK TO MY LAPTOP AND REVERSE ?!

After days and night of googling I'm lost...
Any ideas ?
Phongemeinschaft (Live-ElectroJazz / NuJazz)
Homepage - youtube - Like! :-)
Live 9 (32Bit), HP DV7, i5 2,53GHz, 8 GB RAM, Win7 (64Bit)

Monaco Rob
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:07 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by Monaco Rob » Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:18 am

Hi ST8,

sorry for getting on your nerves, but I can't sent to Ableton anymore, while my iPad receives the ableton settings without any problems.
I'm using the Windows version and made an update to the newest version.
Any idea?
Thanks a lot!
Rob

concept_control
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:57 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by concept_control » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:10 pm

Hint: you need to reinstall LiveControl to the new Live application folder.

atlatnesiti
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 10:44 am

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by atlatnesiti » Mon Sep 27, 2010 2:55 pm

"
Hint: you need to reinstall LiveControl to the new Live application folder.
Posted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:10 pm
"
Hint: just get TouchAble ;)
iMac i7 Quad Core 2.8GHz 32GB RAM • OS X.10 • Apogee Duet • NI Kontrol S49 • Maschine Mikro MKII • Cubase 8.5 • Live 9.6 Suite • Logic Pro X • Reason 9 • WaveLab Elements 9 • Various VST's, AU's and hardware synths, etc;

#1thelark
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: LiveControl: Automap for TouchOSC (ipod/ipad)

Post by #1thelark » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:25 am

Can you run touchOSC on a iphone 2g without wifi?

Post Reply