sub-bass instrument?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Michael Hatsis
Posts: 1807
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Here and There
Contact:

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by Michael Hatsis » Sat Apr 17, 2010 7:23 am

Do you have corpus? you can make huge subb basses with that...too big. Heres a video i made for dubspot showing how to:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFQf0Jiq ... re=related

samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by samtastic » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:12 am

cheers Mike

the corpus tute has yielded some nice results.

So has the MDA Sub-bass plug : )

thanks tips. will look into the others too

dvdreplication
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:32 am

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by dvdreplication » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:31 pm

Whats going on, i am going mad, i have lost all my sense........:'(
DVD Replication Scotland

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by oddstep » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:43 pm

no you're just a spambot. It's ok.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4099
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:56 pm

it's better than ok, you'll fit right in here...

sk8board
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:01 am
Location: in the mountain

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by sk8board » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:55 pm

UKRuss wrote:This sounds very overcomplicated to me.

Just duplicate your bass line, drop the midi an octave and use a synth to generate a square wave and filter it. Some use pure sine wave.

If you want to print the full bassline to audio then just route both track to an audio channel and record.
can't you just freeze and flatten it instead of routing to a separate audio track? i mean, i think that's easier.

stefski
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:58 pm

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by stefski » Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:46 am

How does Corpus sub bass effect work on audio tracks with respect to the key of the audio? :?: A lot the examples I've seen are with midi tracks.

stefski
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:58 pm

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by stefski » Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:57 pm

Bumping with a quote! how does corpus work on audio files? The audio samples I'm using barely have any bass to them, filtering really didn't work out well.
mike@TrackTeam Audio wrote:Do you have corpus? you can make huge subb basses with that...too big. Heres a video i made for dubspot showing how to:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFQf0Jiq ... re=related

simpli.cissimus
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by simpli.cissimus » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:46 pm

Group your instrument/sampler on the track and double it.
Then use a Lo-Pass filter on the second one and you have doubled
your low signal like all those "fancy" vst-plugins do.

By the way, this is how you make a sub-bass instrument.
Take any sound with low frequencies and use Lo-Pass filter to make it sub...
Pads, leads orany other synth sound is good as long as it contains low's.
Same for percussion sounds...
No! I'll never use the Push-App Live 9 !!!

doctah x
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 3:31 pm
Location: cols, ohio
Contact:

Re: sub-bass instrument?

Post by doctah x » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:19 am

spectrasonic's trillian, ron pappen subboom bass
mek dub not war

Post Reply