General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
crofter
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: The foot of our stairs

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by crofter » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:33 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:On a side note, is it possible to delete the crap that comes installed on a Dell or do i have to reinstall windows anyhow?
If you have a Win7 disk I would do a fresh install without all the Dell bollocks, Mine's a Dell It came with Vista but I did a fresh install of Win 7 when it came out, I had previously been running Win7 RC on a separate partition before that.
Core2 quad q660, 4gig ram, Win 7 home premium SP1.
P4 2.8 ghz, Gigabyte GA- 81E2004P, 1.5 gig ram,XP Home, SP3.
dual core pentium laptop 2 gig ram Win 8.
MOTU 8Pre,Tascam FW-1804,Zoom R16, Ableton live 8.4
Cubase 7

crofter
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: The foot of our stairs

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by crofter » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:34 pm

djsynchro wrote:Partition for porn, partition for crack$ torrentz warez serialz apzz and gamez.
Or throw it out the window and get a real computer -->> Mac
Typical mac nonce
Core2 quad q660, 4gig ram, Win 7 home premium SP1.
P4 2.8 ghz, Gigabyte GA- 81E2004P, 1.5 gig ram,XP Home, SP3.
dual core pentium laptop 2 gig ram Win 8.
MOTU 8Pre,Tascam FW-1804,Zoom R16, Ableton live 8.4
Cubase 7

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by davepermen » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:37 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:On a side note, is it possible to delete the crap that comes installed on a Dell or do i have to reinstall windows anyhow?
for the best way, reinstall it from a clean image, and then install drivers from the dell homepage (so you get the actual ones), and then windows update the hell over it :)

i know a friend who removed the crap out of it's vista installation and still had an audio hickup per hour. a clean installation fixed this without any additional work (except what i stated as the default way).

it should work without any issue. but one big hint: don't, just don't, DON'T TWEAK OR CHANCE SETTINGS IN THE BEGINNING.

leave the system at it's default state during the first month at least (install your necessary software and drivers, obviously). really try to learn how win7 works, where it changed, why it changed, and why it always is for the better (including uac and such).

don't try to manually fix stuff in the beginning that you don't know yet if they really are a problem (hint: i use the default setup now since the first beta of vista. then the RC of vista, then beta of win7, now RC of win7. no reinstallations where ever needed. nearly no tweaking was ever needed (and all tweaks are reverted to default at least after a service pack or so.. that means no tweaks on win7 so far indeed).

it should work perfectly well, rockstable, and deliver a great experience. i esp. love the startmenu search for files, which beat the heck out of ableton live's browser. i search in the startmenu, and drag drop the sample or track of choice in.. much faster than live itself :)
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

Tamar UK
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: UK

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by Tamar UK » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:40 pm

I am missing the point here i think so please excuse me as i am new to ableton but surely if you are running everything on one drive as opposed to samples etc on a seperate drive then partitiong that drive is just going to make it work harder tracking back and forth between windows and ableton partitions?
And yes, first thing i did was a reinstall of windows minus the dell crap and back up partitions, i hate the way manufacturers add partitions for system reinstalls instead of supplying an OS disc

5o63
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:25 am

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by 5o63 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:50 pm

get a real computer -->> Mac
Dude do a hard drive on a mac pro book and install the new hard drive yourself.
You will be cursing all the way.Macintosh even put in little magnetised tabs to hide the screws!!!!!.
There not a fixer there a throw away.

Yes cut all that onbaord dell software out its bloatware(my new word).
And try windows 7 before you go back to the old.

love the startmenu search for files, which beat the heck out of ableton live's browser. i search in the startmenu, and drag drop the sample or track of choice in.. much faster than live itself.

nice...

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by agent314 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:55 pm

http://www.pcdecrapifier.com/ PC Decrapifier is a good tool to remove the majority of the bloat that tends to come with Dells.

If you get a standalone Win7 install disk, go ahead and reinstall from that - but it probably comes with a restore disk (if any separate media at all), it's probably going to install all the extra crap, too.

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by Meef Chaloin » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:05 pm

Well, it finally arrived today and Windows 7 seems really nice. However, I've just realised that Waves don't work in 64bit. I haven't tried any other plugins yet but is this a common thing?

Perhaps I should've mentioned that I'm using Live 7 and don't plan on upgrading any time soon, even if 64bit support for live is added (im guessing they won't make v7 64bit?). I read here that Ableton don't recommend Win7 for stability - http://www.ableton.com/pages/faq/windows_7

This is quite a set back really (the plugins), now I'm torn between having Win7 and not being able to play old projects, and going back to XP and not being able to use 4gb ram.

Any advice?

There's always something.... (it seems)

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by longjohns » Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:46 am

chiming in against partitioning.

i agree that you're just forcing activity across a larger expanse of your platter

whatever partition size you think is more than enough, it will sometime in the future seem waay too small.. and then you're forced to do something drastic which risks your data.

certain folders in the (natural) windows c:/ drive may get out of hand fairly easily. especially My Documents & Shared Documents, depending on your organizational strategies.

you might put the shell folders somewhere else.. i'm just saying

crofter
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: The foot of our stairs

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by crofter » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:31 am

Meef Chaloin wrote:Well, it finally arrived today and Windows 7 seems really nice. However, I've just realised that Waves don't work in 64bit. I haven't tried any other plugins yet but is this a common thing?

Perhaps I should've mentioned that I'm using Live 7 and don't plan on upgrading any time soon, even if 64bit support for live is added (im guessing they won't make v7 64bit?). I read here that Ableton don't recommend Win7 for stability - http://www.ableton.com/pages/faq/windows_7

This is quite a set back really (the plugins), now I'm torn between having Win7 and not being able to play old projects, and going back to XP and not being able to use 4gb ram.

Any advice?

There's always something.... (it seems)
32 bit apps will run quite nicely on a 64 bit OS with all your 32 bit plugins, you only need 64 bit plugins if your host is 64 bit and even then you can use a bridge.
Core2 quad q660, 4gig ram, Win 7 home premium SP1.
P4 2.8 ghz, Gigabyte GA- 81E2004P, 1.5 gig ram,XP Home, SP3.
dual core pentium laptop 2 gig ram Win 8.
MOTU 8Pre,Tascam FW-1804,Zoom R16, Ableton live 8.4
Cubase 7

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by leedsquietman » Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:54 am

There are people with issues with Waves on win 7 64 but I think it is with earlier (v5 and earlier) that are causing issues. V7 is supposed to work. Dave - with respect, you are only running Ableton Live and it's own plugins, it's when you use a combination of DAWS and plugins that win 7 presents some shortcomings.

Which 'modern hardware' isn't running with win XP ? I mean, I expect to see this happening in the next few months, but in terms of DAW peripherals, it's still windows 7 64 and vista 64 which are less well supported. The tide is turning though, but if you have multiple audio/midi programs/devices/drivers, it may be necessary to dual boot. However, list all your audio and midi devices, go their support website and see if win 7 drivers exist and if everything is fine there, then at least try win 7 first before going to the ballache of dual booting etc. Live is still a 32 bit app, so should present fewer plugin compatibilities than 64 bit versions of DAWS. Ask some people running Logic 9 64 bit, or Cubase 5 64 bit and you're more likely to find gripes and annoyances than Live users with their 32 bit app. (Many people still run the 32 bit version of Cubase, Reaper, Sonar and Logic because of these gremlins, especially some plugins not working under bit bridging.)

Win 7 64 bit in terms of the DAW operation, is not yet as well supported and stable universally but 6 months aftere release, it is getting better supported and close to the cross-over point for many. Most larger companies at least have beta win 7 64 drivers if not official releases. There are exceptions though, such as the perenially slow TC Powercore.
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

Moody
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:47 pm

Re: General PC Advice - Drive Partitions

Post by Moody » Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:18 am

Partitions are so 1999. :lol:
Ableton’s engineers are hard
at work developing code that will allow our software to predict the future, but we don’t
anticipate having this available until at least the next major release.

Post Reply