Tracks wont play when I am in arrangement view?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Anomaly777

Tracks wont play when I am in arrangement view?

Post by Anomaly777 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:40 am

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Ableton and I am having a little trouble.

I spent four hours working on my first song and I am very impressed with Abletons user friendly environment. I have used Fruity Loops and Pro Tools in the past and I was not as impressed as I am with Ableton 8. For being the first time I have used Ableton I have created an entire song with ease save for the issue which I am about to bring up. I have Ableton Live Lite 8 and I want to upgrade right now, this software is awesome.

I am not sure exactly what I am doing to cause the issue but for some reason after extended periods of editing in the arrangement view and the session view, switching back and forth between the two with no problems, I finally do something which causes the tracks to turn off. In the arrangement view the words Device On is a pale grey indicating that the device is not on. There is no little red light next to the pale grey Device On display.

I click the Back to Arrangement button while in arrangement view and all of the device's displays read that the devices are in fact on but when I press play I have no audio.

After this doesnt work, I switch back to the session view and all of the devices shut off. When I double click next to the track play button as though I were loading a new track and then click the play button itself, three of the devices will become active again in the arrangement view but the remainder of the devices show the pale grey Device On display. This happens if I just press the play button on the track too.

I have tried arming all of the tracks from both the session view and arrangement view with no luck. I have gone through every tutorial I could find and nothing seems to cover this issue.

Please Help,
Anomaly777

doghouse