You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
patekswiss
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:03 pm
Contact:

You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by patekswiss » Mon May 17, 2010 1:28 am

Can you people PLEASE produce a STABLE version of this SOFTWARE

8.1.3 is buggy as ever, crashes hard, even with dirt simple Live sets

You guys are KILLING ME!!!!!

When does the pain end?

-----
Mac Pro 2x3GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
Mac OSX 10.5.8
8 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM

WaveRider
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by WaveRider » Mon May 17, 2010 1:52 am

+1 :evil:

yeah even the browser bugs out for simple preset save operations

it's unbearable

the other day I crashed the browser browsing for midi files ...that loaded properly in other programs...


I mean, I m not even getting to those other crashes and not being able to open many live sets created with v6!!!!


I must have a hundred bug reports on my hardrive, I don't even bother

shuutobi
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:23 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by shuutobi » Mon May 17, 2010 2:18 am

patekswiss wrote:Can you people PLEASE produce a STABLE version of this SOFTWARE

8.1.3 is buggy as ever, crashes hard, even with dirt simple Live sets

You guys are KILLING ME!!!!!

When does the pain end?

-----
Mac Pro 2x3GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
Mac OSX 10.5.8
8 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM

Using anything 3rd party?
List um if you got um.
Image

ze2be
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by ze2be » Mon May 17, 2010 2:47 am

hate to say it, but +2

on a side note, from 8.0.3 to 8.1.1 didn't crash that much to me.
It can crash for many reasons though. Most of the times its my own mistakes. like pushing the cpu, or ram, or overheating, etc. But the last 5 crashes tonight with 8.1.3, I swear its not my mistake! It happens just when moving clips around, or simple things like zooming.

Its not the VSTs. I use very few, and they are all tested, researched and true crash safe.
there's lots of tracks with audio files in this project, so I guess it crashes from ram or cpu spikes. About 30 audio tracks and 20 midi tracks. 4 cores with 40% cpu usage, 1.8gb ram use, 4gb available. XP
? ? ? ? ?

bensuthers-2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:52 pm

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by bensuthers-2 » Mon May 17, 2010 3:03 am

tested, researched and true crash safe.

ze2be
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Location: Mos Eisley

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by ze2be » Mon May 17, 2010 4:41 am

bensuthers-2 wrote:tested, researched and true crash safe.
Ping Pong
? ? ? ? ?

Polyprog
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:57 pm

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by Polyprog » Mon May 17, 2010 5:53 am

+3

Don't know if it's because I have a Win 7 64 bit machine but Live 8.1.3 is crashing like crazy these days. Sad smiley. What triggered me just now was that Live crashed while I was saving a simple Sampler preset. huh?
At least my work was recovered.

Also it would be a lot nicer if I could send bug reports directly from live instead of having to bring up my email....

hoffman2k
Posts: 14683
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by hoffman2k » Mon May 17, 2010 7:51 am

WaveRider wrote:I mean, I m not even getting to those other crashes and not being able to open many live sets created with v6!!!!
http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=142473
Current Beta Version: Live 8.1.4b1 wrote:Bugfixes

- Custom Min/Max values for MIDI- or key-mapped parameters on VST plug-ins would be lost after saving and reloading the Set.

- When using clip envelopes to modulate the parameters of third-party plug-ins, the modulation range would be broken after saving and reloading the Set. (viewtopic.php?f=2&t=141378&start=0)

- Some Sets which were saved in earlier versions of Live could not be opened in recent versions.

- In some cases, the dialog box that should show trial options when starting Live without an authorization would be empty instead.

- Various other stability improvements

freshdrumma
Posts: 575
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 5:33 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by freshdrumma » Mon May 17, 2010 8:00 am

i still have some songs in 8.1.3 but i'm back to 8.9, not only it crash but it don't load a lot of plugs, i mean original plugs!!!!

Sarrova-Q
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by Sarrova-Q » Mon May 17, 2010 10:21 am

Same here. Lots of crashes and I did sent my bug reports. I'm sure Live 8.1.3 crashes a lot more than 8.0.9 but I can't and wouldn't want to go back any more.
I'm going to try the new beta (and I hate to use a beta, but that's a personal thing I guess) and let you know if it's better.

I know the Ableton team is really trying to solve this, thanks in advance !



Cheers.

G.
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Paris

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by G. » Mon May 17, 2010 10:59 am

I played a 2h set saturday night. no crash, no problem.
Live was pushed to its "limits", with 132 audio tracks, 2.5Go of samples loaded, 178 scenes, effects and VSTs, and one m4l device.

8.1.3 is the more stable version at this time for me...

g

mr.ergonomics
Posts: 914
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by mr.ergonomics » Mon May 17, 2010 11:51 am

no problems here.

dum
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:51 pm

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by dum » Mon May 17, 2010 12:02 pm

No issues here,
7.0.18
Pasha wrote:Thanks dum for being so precise.

Sarrova-Q
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by Sarrova-Q » Mon May 17, 2010 12:04 pm

mr.ergonomics wrote:no problems here.
G. wrote:I played a 2h set saturday night. no crash, no problem.
Live was pushed to its "limits", with 132 audio tracks, 2.5Go of samples loaded, 178 scenes, effects and VSTs, and one m4l device.

8.1.3 is the more stable version at this time for me...

g
Soooo what's your point? We all know some users have a more stable setup, but that doesn't mean we caused the crashes ourselves by doing something wrong.
No offense, but If your happy with your version, good for you but you can't ignore users who purchased Live and still have lots of crashes.

FYI I don't have crashes when every device / FX / plugin / sample is allready loaded, ready and on it's place.
I do have many crashes when working and producing: inserting devices, moving tracks, editing stuff, ...
So when I'm able to load a premade live set that should work for me to.

ps @ dum: this is about 8.1.3 as you can read in the title of this thread :roll: ...

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: You Do Realize that 8.1.3 still crashes ALL THE TIME???!!?!?

Post by davepermen » Mon May 17, 2010 12:19 pm

Sarrova-Q wrote:Soooo what's your point? We all know some users have a more stable setup, but that doesn't mean we caused the crashes ourselves by doing something wrong.
his point is, it depends on how you use the app, what additional tools, what hardware setup, what soundcard, etc. and what parts of the app you use.

and this is why some have live 8 without any crashes since first beta (like me), and some still have crashes right now. and that's why it's important to find out what the differences in those setups are, to find out what triggers the bugs. maybe some of your vsts need some bugfixes, too? maybe one of your soundcard/external devices drivers needs an update, too? maybe your mac needs a general update, as you're not on a stable release? etc etc.

in short, no you don't do anything wrong. still, something's wrong in your configuration that is not in others. lets hope they find all live-based faults and fix them (as well as all other parts that are involved do their part to fix it)
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

Post Reply