Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Aeroplay
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Aeroplay » Fri May 28, 2010 9:47 pm

Hey folks,

is there any speacialist out there who has done this in Live or knows how? I know its possible it's just a question of effort...

Ideas greatly apprechiated! :D



8O
By really understanding art, you become an artist yourself

Tone Deft
Posts: 24044
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Tone Deft » Fri May 28, 2010 9:59 pm

Live itself doesn't make any noises, detune the synths.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Aeroplay
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Aeroplay » Fri May 28, 2010 10:21 pm

Ok, dumb question, sorry. I just put a frequency shifter -7.9Hz on the Master... I guess it does the job. 432,10 Hz is related to the Schumann-resonance-frequenzy, idian istruments are also tuned like that.
By really understanding art, you become an artist yourself

jaaaku
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:39 am

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by jaaaku » Fri May 28, 2010 10:50 pm

Totally not a dumb question.
Some programs (such as Reason) have a master tuning setting in the preferences. Unfortunately I can't see one in Live.
What's it for by the way?

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by beats me » Fri May 28, 2010 10:52 pm

Buy a Mac

Akshara
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:16 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Akshara » Fri May 28, 2010 10:52 pm

It's not a dumb question. Live Suite could really use a global tune function, or to support the import of Scala files with all of the included synths, as it is difficult and time consuming to retune each individual instrument or sample to a specific frequency.

I personally would not use a Frequency Shifter effect on Live's master output for a polyphonic mix, if optimal sound quality is wanted.

On OS X there is a third party commercial option called Li'l Miss' Scale Oven which supports Operator, Simpler and Tension, for $165.
Last edited by Akshara on Fri May 28, 2010 10:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24044
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Tone Deft » Fri May 28, 2010 10:55 pm

Akshara wrote:I personally would not use a Frequency Shifter effect on Live's master output for a polyphonic mix, if optimal sound quality is wanted.
+1
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by 3dot... » Sat May 29, 2010 1:12 pm

Tone Deft wrote:
Akshara wrote:I personally would not use a Frequency Shifter effect on Live's master output for a polyphonic mix, if optimal sound quality is wanted.
+1
+1000... that's not the tool for the job..
detune the oscillators on the synths you're using..
Image

Aeroplay
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Aeroplay » Sat May 29, 2010 1:25 pm

Damn, it doesn't have the same result anyway. Detuning the synths is also not the thing to do... That sucks...
By really understanding art, you become an artist yourself

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by 3dot... » Sat May 29, 2010 1:38 pm

you might want to consider a synth that can load tuning files (.tun)..
Absynth does that.. and some others as well..
although de-tuning the oscillators should work
Image

rikhyray
Posts: 3644
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 12:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by rikhyray » Sat May 29, 2010 2:15 pm

Aeroplay wrote: idian istruments are also tuned like that.
idian istruments You mean Indian instruments?
That is total nonsense, reference tone as such never existed, never been used in Indian music- the fundamental note "SA" is not C (though too often simplified to it by lousy musicologist) it can be any frequence depending on individual vox or instrument. Sitar is mostly anything between B and D, Sarod Bb-D#, female voice E-G etc,etc,etc.
Once that "Middle voice" "Sa" is defined all the intervals are related to it not any absolute 440 or 432. That is why whole pseudo mystical bullshit that particular frequency is happy other sad ( whatever) wont apply within Indian music system because the very same physical frequency can be depending on what the "tonic" the "Sa" i,s a second fifth or flat 7.
In modern Indian commercial music where Indian instruments are used along with western and electronic regular 440 is used. Mystic sound of ancient India Hokus pokus that will let you ride on spinning chakras was invented by hippies on LSD.

massenmedium
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:25 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by massenmedium » Sat May 29, 2010 2:25 pm

If you don't need it to be live you could render the output and play it back / resample it at a slightly slower rate.

(0.982/1) so 44100 * 0.982 = 43306, for example, roughly speaking.

AbleToRemember
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:37 am

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by AbleToRemember » Sat May 29, 2010 3:09 pm

Greetings,

I have just recorded my first song in 432 hz using ableton 8 suite. I ended up retuning all my stringed instruments to A 432 hz (acoustic guitars), by putting on a heavier gage string (medium, d'addario exp17) which worked very well. You can either use the tone frequency selector under ableton preferences, then select audio, this will give you a reference at least. A lot of tuners out there do not support 432 tuning, although there are some tuning apps for ipod touch that do.
After this I recorded my guitar track, dropped in some drum loops, played a bass line on the keyboard (using ableton instrument) and detuned it to approx. -32 cents. I did the same when recording a piano track. I then sung my lead vox and two harmony sections.
This song was completed using 432 hz and I have to share that singing at this frequency is much more relaxed and resonant. When I listened to the song after completion, I was amazed at the difference between 440 and 432, 432 just feels better. A highly recommend giving this a try and see (feel) for yourself.
This worked for me, I realize that retuning instruments is a bit of a pain, but makes the most sense, you will feel the difference in the resonance (especially acoustic guitar).

Best of luck,

Brett

Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by Lazos » Sat May 29, 2010 9:37 pm

Unfortunately, it ISN'T an easy thing to do with Live's Synths. Detuning oscillators is tedious as it sounds like the OP realized. OP, what are you trying to do?

I wholeheartedly recommend Lil' Miss Scale Oven for more involved tuning tasks. I own it, and it has helped me place all the moveable frets (perdelar) on my Turkish bowed tanbur. I just load a .tun file that I've created into Zebra and reference the notes that way. BUT there are a million and one applications for this kind of thing, and it sounds like your problem may not be so involved.

If you are just looking to change the fundamental reference frequency of your synths, then unfortunately even Ableton's pitch midi effect will not do (it only adjusts by semitones, and you need something finer) and you need something that references hertz rather than cents.

Maybe there is a M4L patch that can allow Abe's synths to have a finer pitch resolution adjustment? Any M4L programmmers out there to confirm this? Tone Deft? This is different than needing a full-fledged synth retuning program like Lil' Miss Scale Oven or Scala.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Tune Live to 432,10 Hz (instead of 440) ???

Post by 3dot... » Sat May 29, 2010 11:13 pm

...SCALA FILES

http://www.huygens-fokker.org/scala/

"Several software synthesizers like AlsaModularSynth, Tobybear Helios, MAZ Sound VSampler, Orion Pro, VirSyn Cube, Cantor, TERA 2, rgc:audio z3ta+, Cakewalk Dimension Pro and Rapture, Oblivion VSTi and ZynAddSubFX have adopted the Scala scale file format as a means to tune them instead of via a special tuning dump file. More will hopefully be following."
Last edited by 3dot... on Sat May 29, 2010 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Post Reply