anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
buzby
Posts: 1461
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: Reykjavik

anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by buzby » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:06 pm

just curious to what they are like ?

thanks
https://www.facebook.com/abletonideas
https://www.youtube.com/c/abletonideas
https://hiddensound1.bandcamp.com/
macbookpro (2.6ghz, 8gb, 10.13.3) suite 10.0.1, izotope rx adv., apogee duet, sound devices 633, senn mkh 30, 8060, 8050, sony pcm d100

Tarekith
Posts: 17713
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:12 pm

Awesome little speaker, I've had a pair for years now. I find that plugging both the bass ports with foam helps clean up the low end some, but otherwise I think it's the best monitor under $500, if not more. Many of my friends have them.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by Winterpark » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:24 pm

Hey Buz,

I've used them, and liked them for years and years... actually only recently upgraded to Adam A7s.

The Mk2s are ok, but the top end is no-where near as clear as the A7s... in fact, it felt like i had new ears on when i plugged the new ones in.

Also, the low-mid range of the Mk2s, whilst 'pleasing' is not very accurate, and it's hard to actually work out what's really going on there.

But for under $500 they're pretty good, and i'm keeping mine for checking mixes on (and for watching movies and playing records through")

:)M
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

twisted-space
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: UK Midlands

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by twisted-space » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:24 am

Love mine, as Tarekith mentioned plugging one or both of the ports helps tidy up the bottom end, make sure you set them up as the manual describes (available on the alesis site).

buzby
Posts: 1461
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: Reykjavik

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by buzby » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:54 am

thanks for the feedback guys
am wrote:Hey Buz,

I've used them, and liked them for years and years... actually only recently upgraded to Adam A7s.
hey matt - how are you mate ? me and eythor just in the studio - we were looking at adam monitors last night - niiiice

sorry for being so crap at keeping in contact - get on skype mate - be nice to have a chat

take care
https://www.facebook.com/abletonideas
https://www.youtube.com/c/abletonideas
https://hiddensound1.bandcamp.com/
macbookpro (2.6ghz, 8gb, 10.13.3) suite 10.0.1, izotope rx adv., apogee duet, sound devices 633, senn mkh 30, 8060, 8050, sony pcm d100

logic_user99
Posts: 1965
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by logic_user99 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:08 pm

twisted-space wrote:Love mine, as Tarekith mentioned plugging one or both of the ports helps tidy up the bottom end, make sure you set them up as the manual describes (available on the alesis site).
8)
Macbook | Live 7.0.18 |

dzisign
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: berlin

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by dzisign » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:19 pm

I got them 9 months ago and for me these are really efficient monitors (for 300€/pair). I can totally recommend them.
soundcloud

*Macbook Pro 2009 2,53*Live Suite 8*APC40*Axiom25*monster win7 x64 machine*M1 MKII

Rave
Posts: 6152
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:26 am

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by Rave » Fri Jun 04, 2010 3:39 pm

Tarekith wrote:Awesome little speaker, I've had a pair for years now. I find that plugging both the bass ports with foam helps clean up the low end some, but otherwise I think it's the best monitor under $500, if not more. Many of my friends have them.

What he said but i still think they are shit for production.

twisted-space
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: UK Midlands

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by twisted-space » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:33 pm

logic_user99 wrote:
twisted-space wrote:Love mine, as Tarekith mentioned plugging one or both of the ports helps tidy up the bottom end, make sure you set them up as the manual describes (available on the alesis site).
8)

:D

Tarekith
Posts: 17713
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by Tarekith » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:02 pm

Rave wrote:
Tarekith wrote:Awesome little speaker, I've had a pair for years now. I find that plugging both the bass ports with foam helps clean up the low end some, but otherwise I think it's the best monitor under $500, if not more. Many of my friends have them.

What he said but i still think they are shit for production.
For the price though they are ace, that's the key.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

maksk
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:56 pm

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by maksk » Sat Jun 05, 2010 4:34 pm

love mine!
Wouldn't trade them for anyhing else...
I'm the Evil Ableton Operator, with my pumping Saturator

buzby
Posts: 1461
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: Reykjavik

Re: anyone using the alesis M1Active MKII monitors ?

Post by buzby » Sat Jun 05, 2010 7:15 pm

thanks

we ve looked into the price of a pair and the blah blah blah .. icelandic economy kreppa blah, import costs and taxes pushes the price way up ... by a lot ..

ah well ..
https://www.facebook.com/abletonideas
https://www.youtube.com/c/abletonideas
https://hiddensound1.bandcamp.com/
macbookpro (2.6ghz, 8gb, 10.13.3) suite 10.0.1, izotope rx adv., apogee duet, sound devices 633, senn mkh 30, 8060, 8050, sony pcm d100

Post Reply