Nice Harware + Ableton

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
baubson

Nice Harware + Ableton

Post by baubson » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:44 pm

Hi all,
I used to be a drummer. Than I started djing and still am for 15 years now, using Serato and CDJ-1000.
Now I want to go the the next level ;)
I saw Paul Kalkbrenner last weekend in Montreal and his way of playing live is very interesting to me.

I have a macbook without any additional or external soundcard, and worked with Logic for a year, but I really want to switch to Ableton.
Now, my question is:
Because if a first try and don't have a lot of money for the moment, what should I look for in term of hardware !?
A 14 channels mixer connected to a soundcard and Ableton ?
A mixer with a soundcard integrated ?
Akai APC40 ? Look like toy to me but is it a good alternative !?

I am 1) a newbie to this forum 2) a newbie to production 3)a newbie for all the hardware stuff available.

If you have a few minutes, I would really appreciate some tips because even if I go to my local store, they don't seems to really understand my needs.

Many thx in advance to all,
ma

Hidden Driveways

Re: Nice Harware + Ableton

Post by Hidden Driveways » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:03 pm

Before you try to figure out what gear you need, I would suggest that you first start doing the kind of work you want to do. When you encounter a limitation that can be remedied with a piece of equipment, then purchase the equipment.

If you're not sure what you would do with an APC40, don't get one. If you need a 14 channel mixer, get one. Don't think about equipment you need when you don't really need it. Concentrate 100% on the music. Devote your thoughts to the work you want to do.

Post by 4.33 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:04 pm

you want a portable soundcard with 4 outs, look up these companies:
- native instruments
- focusrite
- presonus
(you can run soundcard outs to either a DJ mixer or straight to FOH mixer, keeping your mixing in one box)