What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
fountain2
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:40 am

What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Post by fountain2 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:25 am

First off, let me list the equipment I'm currently using:
Macbook Pro (with ableton 8)
M-audio Profire 610
gibson Les paul guitar
M-audio Axiom keyboard

Amps:
Beherigner 90 watt (vocals, ableton drums, and keyboard)
Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue 40 watt tube amp (guitar)

Goals: play live music (e.g. loop guitar) using all of the instruments with each instrument having it's own output out of the profire 610 to the respective amp.

The setup is currently working but I am unhappy with the sound quality.

Can someone please walk me through on how to cable all of this stuff to eliminate as much noise as possible? (e.g. do I plug directly into my effects pedals > profire > amp OR directly into amp > effects pedals > profire > back to amp). Will TRS cables work or do I just use standard TS cables.

I starting to realize I have a TON to learn....

Best

Paul

Tone Deft
Posts: 23769
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:30 am

get the attention of a poster called Jekblad, he does a similar thing that you want.


generally speaking...
high sample rate for low latency. 1ms of latency is like standing 1 foot further from your monitors. generally people find <20-30mS to be OK.

latency is the time for audio to get into Live, plus Live's processing time plus the time to get to your sound card and out to the monitors.

also, do the Live lesson on 'Delay Compensation.'

all in all it's a big question, hope this gets you going...
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

bosonHavoc
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Post by bosonHavoc » Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:10 am

one thing to remember when setting up at home and playing in smaller venues
try yo make sure that all your amps are on the same ground..
including the amp the powers the mains..

whats your plans with the guitar?
are you going to be looping or using any computer effects?
same with vocals?

i'd say experiment with different hardware effect combo's
you could try pre computer, post computer, or create send/loop.
running A line out of your interface that routes to your effects chain then back in. set up en external effects plug then put on a send or insert..
fun stuff.. plus you could use your hardware effects on vox, drums, keys... whatever..

you also need to watch your cpu.. our vocal chain uses allot of cpu which puts us on the edge.. and sometimes we go over resulting in drop outs.

side question for some one ... would more ram help?

fountain2
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:40 am

Re: What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Post by fountain2 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:28 am

thanks for the referece tone deaf

bosonHavoc... good points on experimenting with different setups. I especially like your idea of having an out to the effects pedals and directly back in into the interface! So, in ableton then I would just select one of the other audio tracks (say vocals) to be connected to this somehow?...

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: What is the optimum setup for me best sound quality?

Post by Jekblad » Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:58 pm

Good to see familiar faces here! :)

can u describe "bad sound quality" in more detail?

IE: pops crackles, hiss, muddy, soft, latency

not sure what problem we are trying to fix here...
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

Post Reply