does anyone actually perform LIVE using Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: does anyone actually perform LIVE using Live?

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed Aug 11, 2010 4:53 pm

Pitch Black in action:

http://vimeo.com/2122511
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

mojofunk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: Buffalo NY
Contact:

Re: does anyone actually perform LIVE using Live?

Post by mojofunk » Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:30 pm

I just did an improvised show playing an upright (electric) bass, a micron synth, a guitar and the computer (4 loopers + drum loops + EFX). It was a blast, and people enjoyed it. I see where I can improve, and plan on doing many more. I used a FCB1010 with loopers as previously described, and it works beautifully, but I might caution against ten loopers not only on the grounds of cpu, but also the potential for confusion - both your own and the audiences! I learned a few things from my recent performance - it is possible to FSU so much that you lose sight of the 1, which may cause your quantized loops that you might add to be misaligned, and also the ideas that were most successful were the ones that stayed simple and built gradually. No need for the kitchen sink in every song!

ChrisMack99
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:50 pm

Re: does anyone actually perform LIVE using Live?

Post by ChrisMack99 » Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:14 pm

EOTO, Bassnectar, Pretty Lights, Big Gigantic, Rusko, etc.

Post Reply