How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
audio007
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:22 am

How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by audio007 » Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:48 pm

hi! is there a chance to make a clip (in the session view) double long ? that the same clip is copied to get double length ? is there an easy way to fix that ?

thank you!

supamonsta
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: The Lounge
Contact:

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by supamonsta » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:12 pm

copy clip (ctrl C)
paste in arrangement
then ctrl D
then select the 2 clips and merge them (right click on selection, then "merge" or "append", I don't remember...=)
then copy this new one
paste into session

or

double clip size (x2, or use clip lenght)
select notes of the clip
press ctrl D (duplicate)

KrisM
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: TX, USA

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by KrisM » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:24 pm

there should be some little draggy arrows in the clip view that you can move on the right side. Top one moves the clip-length, bottom the piano roll iirc. Might have them reversed in my brain :D

And the previous poster is thinking of "consolidate" :) cmd-j (ctrl-j on Windows).

**edit** you could probably setup some follow actions to make the clip play twice before moving to the next one, too.
I don't 'produce.' I write music.

myxomat0515
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 3:31 am
Location: Florida

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by myxomat0515 » Thu Jun 24, 2010 4:16 pm

From the clip view, you can manually enter the clip length (replace the 4 with 8) and then copy and paste, or duplicate, the first half. Might only work w/MIDI clips in session view though, I'm not sure if you can copy and pasted audio in session.

Moody
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:47 pm

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by Moody » Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:00 pm

,or use follow actions.
Ableton’s engineers are hard
at work developing code that will allow our software to predict the future, but we don’t
anticipate having this available until at least the next major release.

netchaiev
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by netchaiev » Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:51 pm

If it's an audio clip, you either consolidate two clips in arrangement like said earlier or in the clip envelope section, choose clip and volume for example and unlinked region/loop and make any length you want.
Or in Follow action make it play twice.
MBP 2011/i7/10.8/Live 8 Suite/M4L+Launchpad+TF+KorgNano.
http://soundcloud.com/netchaiev
http://www.vimeo.com/user408737

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by Homebelly » Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:48 am

audio007 wrote:hi! is there a chance to make a clip (in the session view) double long ? that the same clip is copied to get double length ? is there an easy way to fix that ?

thank you!
Is it an audio or midid clip?
Once you have doubled the length of the clip, what do want to do with it next?
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by djsynchro » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:41 am

rtfm

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: How to make a 4 bar long loop (session view) 8 bars long ?

Post by outershpongolia » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:28 am

djsynchro wrote:rtfm
it just rtfm's.

Post Reply