Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
jimfisheye
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:45 pm

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by jimfisheye » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:20 pm

hoffman2k wrote:
jimfisheye wrote: -Ableton Live v8.1
8.1.what?
8.1.0

hoffman2k
Posts: 14692
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:26 pm

jimfisheye wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:
jimfisheye wrote: -Ableton Live v8.1
8.1.what?
8.1.0
Well there's your problem. Update to the latest version at least. That would be 8.1.3.
But I recommend skipping that one and go straight to Live 8.1.4b3.
What you're running is about a year old.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=144842

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by 3phase » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:02 pm

so its time for our 1 year crashing all over party?

wow..the longest beta phase in the history of music software..
mac book 2,16 ghz 4(3)gb ram, Os 10.62, fireface 400,

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by leedsquietman » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:03 pm

jimfisheye expects to record 24 tracks of audio simultaneously at 24/48 with SSL FX on each channel and 3 reverbs activated at 64 samples on a Macbook Pro ?

That's a pretty ambitious ask, even for an 8 core Mac Pro tower.

Upping your buffer to something more realistic such as 256 samples might help ...
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by cotdagoo » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:04 pm

hoffman2k wrote:
jimfisheye wrote:
8.1.0
Well there's your problem. Update to the latest version at least. That would be 8.1.3.
But I recommend skipping that one and go straight to Live 8.1.4b3.
What you're running is about a year old.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=144842
indeed! the 8.1.0 was still being tested when it shipped. so you've been using a beta product all this time ;P

jimfisheye
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:45 pm

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by jimfisheye » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:14 pm

hoffman2k wrote: Well there's your problem. Update to the latest version at least. That would be 8.1.3.
But I recommend skipping that one and go straight to Live 8.1.4b3.
What you're running is about a year old.

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=144842
Well, they say nothing about the bugs I found in any of the newer release notes. I'm not going to purchase a new version to demo it. The current demo version is even older and requires calling home on every launch in order to run. I'm not into browsing TPB right now either. Nope. Moving on. Ableton... YOU'RE FIRED!
leedsquietman wrote:jimfisheye expects to record 24 tracks of audio simultaneously at 24/48 with SSL FX on each channel and 3 reverbs activated at 64 samples on a Macbook Pro ?

That's a pretty ambitious ask, even for an 8 core Mac Pro tower.

Upping your buffer to something more realistic such as 256 samples might help ...
Maybe a little ambitious. Macs work well with ambitious.
I'd be mixing live so 256 samples is too much latency. Besides, I never had a buffer run out so that's a moot point.

OK OK, obviously this app is not aimed at the "professional" market. The midi features caught my eye so I gave it a shot. Oh well. Seriously though, use this in front of an audience at your own risk of embarrassment.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14692
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:29 pm

Ehrm.. Updates are free to registered users.. Ah I see.. I'd direct my complaint at AIR. They'll fix it.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by leedsquietman » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:42 pm

256 samples is 12-13ms round trip, that's less latency than the average live guitarist has from his monitor speakers on stage - It should be sufficient for most recording tasks. Maybe if you're tracking drums you might want a bit less latency, otherwise I don't see a problem with it.

Some audio interfaces wouldn't be able to deliver you even 256 samples with so much streaming at once, Mac or PC.

I was also thinking along the lines of AiR when I saw the version number. God damned second rate hackers, they're a scourge I tell you !
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

solar28
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by solar28 » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:45 pm

I think an ample definition for cunt would be someone who downloads warez and has the fuck all happening enough to go on a forum and complain about it. Epic fail you douchebag.

timwright
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by timwright » Sat Jun 26, 2010 6:55 pm

solar28 wrote:I think an ample definition for cunt would be someone who downloads warez and has the fuck all happening enough to go on a forum and complain about it. Epic fail you douchebag.
Well said. Complaining about the stability of a program you downloaded a crack of is so hilarious, I can't believe there was 2 pages of responses to this thread. As us English would say, jog on dick head.

arafel
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by arafel » Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:27 am

leedsquietman wrote:Both of my Dell machines run Live, Cubase, Reaper, Renoise, Soundforge and all the vsts I own just fine ...

(we really need a facepalm icon for doofus statements like the last one ...)

Here's a rather sexy and pertinent one ...

Image
:oops:

Sexy Facepalm noted... no disrespect to you or your fine machines intended.
My flippancy & scorn was directed only at the OP, and the ridiculous, sweeping statements.
* OHH SNAP -- thats what I did too... sry.

But if throwing out a random wise-crack gets me sexy stuff posted in response... then its difficult to resist.
2.8ghz Quad PowerMac, Fa-66 using optical link, Live 9.72, Remote25, Maschine, Samson 65a.

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by leedsquietman » Sun Jun 27, 2010 3:21 am

Hey no probs, it gave me an excuse to post a hot chick, so we're all winners. ;)
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: Ableton Live not ready for prime time

Post by starving student » Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:42 am

umm, I like you because nobody else does. Lets be friends :mrgreen:

Post Reply