Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by Logeek » Thu Jul 01, 2010 8:19 pm

Greetings, I use Live 8 and Logic 8. I'm also very fond of Gleetchlab3. I cannot figure out how to record gleetchlab into live or logic. I can set up a project in live, assign MIDI controls, and run it, minimze it on the screen and then open Gleetchlab3 and "Jam" real time, with the live8 project. What I cannot do is record the whole thing. If I understand correctly, Gleetchlab has no save feature deliberately so as to encourge real time live music exploration/creation. But I am not sure if the creators meant to disallow recording. (?) I can find no handbook or manual for gleetchlab3. I also want to be clear that I have paid to legally use Gleetchbab3 and have nothing but respect for its creators. Any ideas? Thanks, Brad
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by swishniak » Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:40 am

yeah, gleetch is great. .ive never tried using it in live, but i can imagine it wouldnt be too hard. some options could be:
-install soundflower and send the outputs to live that way.
-use an IAC channel
-if you have a multichannel sound card patch it through with cables.

good luck.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by swishniak » Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:40 am

but also there is a built in record function in gleetch, no?

dave dominey
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 4:11 pm

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by dave dominey » Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:09 pm

rewire

Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by Logeek » Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:37 am

Thanks for the feedback. Brad
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

sans soleil
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: toronto
Contact:

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by sans soleil » Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:14 pm

gleetchlab has its own built-in recorder (at the top - to the left of 'tempo')...otherwise you could try using soundflower (or something similar) to route the audio into an ableton audio track.

dave dominey
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 4:11 pm

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by dave dominey » Sun Jul 04, 2010 4:21 pm

dave dominey wrote:rewire
this

Logeek
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:07 am
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: Live8.1.3 recording Gleetchlab3?

Post by Logeek » Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:04 am

Thanks for the feedback. Live is reading gleetchlab, but will not carry the actual signal. Rewire works great for Elysium...but so far no luck with gleetchlab. I just can't find what I'm doing wrong... I'll keep at it.
Mac OS X Version 10.9.2 i-Mac 24"
Live 9.1.1 and Logic Pro 8
3.06 GHz Intel Core Duo 4 Gb RAM
1 TB Hard Drive
Motu UltraLite MK3 A/D converter & Micro lite MIDI relay
2 dynaudio BM5A monitors
Nord Stage EX
Elektron Machinedrum sps-1UW+

Post Reply