Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by Zeddy » Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:45 pm

I'm pretty new to my Ultralite and am pretty confused by CueMix FX and the hardware in general. I'm planning on recording my friend's DJ set. He uses a conventional setup (two turntables, mixer). I would like to record this set into Live, but am a bit worried that latency may cause a few problems with his beatmatching if he is listening to the signal monitored through Live. I know with the Ultralite that you can pass inputs right through to outputs (live monitoring) with zero latency, and I think this may be the best way to do it. For the life of me though, I can't figure out how to do that (direct monitor an input). I have read the manual a bunch of times, and it seems to refer to using mix busses to do it, but I'm lost at that point. I guess I should also ask then too: is it possible to live monitor an input and also record it into Live at the same time? Thanks for any help.

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by Piplodocus » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:04 pm

Set all the ins you need from the turntables/etc in the cuemix software "inputs" tab to optimum levels.

Set up all your tracks in Ableton to the same ins and record enable them. Make sure they are muted though so they don't output from the monitors, but will record.

Go to the "mixes" tab in CuemixFX. Set the mix output on the rightmost side of the channels to whatever output you want to listen/monitor on (or choose a different mix that's already assigned to it, as there's 8 available mixes). Unmute/adjust the levels on that mix tab so the monitor/speakers have the right mix.

Set ableton's click to come out that same channel as the monitors from in Ableton.

Now the click will go from ableton to the output channels, the inputs will be internally routed and back out the output channels in the MOTU, and the MOTU inputs will be recorded into Live.

That's how the direct monitoring works!

Alternatively you could record it in normally, then adjust the delay ms afterwards for each ableton channel with the delay compensation adjustment each track has.
Image
Mac OSX: 10.8.2, Live Suite: 9.0.2 (64-bit) Live user since:v5 (Above now has an APC40, 8GB RAM and a Diezel 212F Cab but currently too lazy to re-draw it all)

Piplodocus
Posts: 791
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by Piplodocus » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:09 pm

Image
Mac OSX: 10.8.2, Live Suite: 9.0.2 (64-bit) Live user since:v5 (Above now has an APC40, 8GB RAM and a Diezel 212F Cab but currently too lazy to re-draw it all)

Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by Zeddy » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:51 pm

Thank you so much. I will give all of that a try. Going to watch that video as well too... hope it will clear up some of my confusion.

edit: I'm at work so I can't try it right now, but I may have had some of the mutes on the Mixes area all goofed up. Maybe that's why I couldn't hear it. That will be a little embarrassing if that's the cause.

Zeddy
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:50 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by Zeddy » Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:58 am

Ok, I'm good to go now. I had the input that I wanted to monitor muted on the Mixes tab still. Needless to say, once I unmuted, I was in business. Thanks again for the help.

martinlektra
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:07 am

Re: Live hardware monitoring using Motu Ultralike mk3

Post by martinlektra » Tue Jan 04, 2011 4:39 pm

Hi, I want to add a question here. I want to do the same thing here but i am worried about all the equalizing/compression of the whole mix. Do you guys have something to suggest to make my mix sound very "warm" with a good "presence" without having a saturation in basses & highs…

I know it's a broad question, but any "general" guideline would be helpful.
thanks

Post Reply