Live won't recognize midi - please help!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sroom3000
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:30 pm

Live won't recognize midi - please help!

Post by sroom3000 » Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:34 pm

Hello, I'm using an m-audio firewire audiophile box to connect my mdi keyboard and my laptop. My mac will recognize the incoming midi signal when i run "test setup" in the audio/midi setup utility but Live will not recognize it for some reason. Any suggestions??
thanks
SR

steved
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:13 pm
Location: Lancaster, UK.

preferences ... ?

Post by steved » Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:43 pm

Have you selected your midi device in Live's preferences ?
Nocturn early adopter ....

sroom3000
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:30 pm

Post by sroom3000 » Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:47 am

yes, I've selected the midi device in the preferences and still nothing. Any other suggestions?

cosmosuave
Posts: 1774
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 3:36 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by cosmosuave » Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:49 am

sroom3000 wrote:yes, I've selected the midi device in the preferences and still nothing. Any other suggestions?
Reboot your Mac with all midi hardware on then launch Live...
MD SPS-1 DARKENERGY JX-3P (PG200) Mbase01
http://soundcloud.com/cosmosuave
http://www.cosmosuave.com/

sroom3000
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:30 pm

Post by sroom3000 » Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:50 pm

I've tried rebooting as well, nothing. It's weird because my mac sees the incoming midi signal in audio/midi setup utility but neither Live 3 nor Reason will recognize the signal. ..and YES I have the device selected in the midi preferecnes of both programs. I'm running a midi foot controller through an m-audio firewire into a titanium G4 powerbook. Is there soemthing I need to configure in the mac? any suggestions? this has been driving me insane for days!!!!
thanks

bod
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:23 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by bod » Tue Dec 07, 2004 3:18 pm

do you need any drivers to be installed for the foot pedal? my midisport 2x2 needed drivers, which i only found out after many days of fiddling. :oops:

udp
Posts: 962
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 2:36 am
Location: Mid Michigan, USA

Post by udp » Tue Dec 07, 2004 5:36 pm

Make sure you have the most recent drivers. Go to the m-audio web site. I got caught not using the latest oxygen 8 drivers and some of my music software couldn't see it until I updated the driver.
OS X.5 MacBook Core 2Duo 2.2ghz, 2Gig RAM Mackie Onyx 400F m-audio BX8's, Oxygen 8, Zoom H-4, Alesis Masterlink, Bitstream 3x
http://www.udpmusic.com

sroom3000
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:30 pm

Post by sroom3000 » Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:51 pm

YES!!! it was the driver. I went to the m-audio site, downloaded the latest driver and now everything works brilliantly! I'm launching scenes and loops like crazy!! thanks UDP, great suggestion.

sroom

Post Reply