akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
kingrad
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:11 pm

akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Post by kingrad » Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:13 pm

I would like to occasionally use the MPC 2500 as a midi controller for drum racks, does anyone know how to set this up on the MPC and in Live?

Many thanks

Fritz609
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Post by Fritz609 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:06 pm

I know this is an old topic but i've been trying to figure this ish out for the past week. I hope i'm not wasting my time. I'm currently on Live 9 Suite Trial and I don't want to have to buy a controller if I don't have to when I officialy purchase my copy of Ableton.

jestermgee
Posts: 4163
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Post by jestermgee » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:23 pm

It should be possible. The MPC I would assume can operate just as a MIDI controller. I use to own an MPD32 and to allow complete dynamic control of things such as the drum track so you could have all 16 pads set to the 16 pads shown "on-screen" but also allow scrolling through all pads in the rack you need to have your controller setup as a control surface.

I am not in front of Ableton at the moment but you can go into the preferences and check under the MIDI section to see if there is an MPC control surface option. Alternatively you could look into making a user script but I haven't needed to go that far myself. All I can say is that somehow it should be possible. Ableton offers a LOT of tools to hack solutions together for almost anything.

Google suggests:

http://www.akaipro.com/kb/article/1478

http://www.mpc-tutor.com/mpc-ableton-live-tutorial/

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=able ... ve&ssui=on

As a starter

Fritz609
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Post by Fritz609 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:48 am

Thanks for the links but they didnt help much. I think i have found a solution but havent tried it yet. I know its for the mpc1000 but i hope theres no difference between the two.... http://www.noterepeat.com/products/akai ... -drum-rack

kingrad
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: akai mpc 2500 to control drum racks

Post by kingrad » Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:46 pm

Thats pretty funny, came across my old post and saw replies from 3 yrs later. Thanks for the response, will check out the tips as I never sorted this out.

Post Reply