TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mousetrapreplica
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by mousetrapreplica » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:18 am

Don't intend to hijack this thread and the really supportive guys at touchable but have you considered using touchosc and its editor to tailor the interface to what you really need ?
Hi Madlab, your point is duly noted, however I have had nothing but trouble in trying to get TouchOSC working on a Windows laptop, hence looking for another alternative. But yes, the customisable TouchOSC interfaces would be exactly what we are after, as we would be able to tailor the composition in the Ableton template to the interface, and vice-versa. Maybe I should persist with getting TouchOSC to work with our PC laptop(s), but I think it is worthwhile floating our concept with Touch-able as well.

Thanks for your input. :)

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Sibanger » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:31 am

mousetrapreplica wrote:Hello Touch-able folks.

I work for a major performing arts centre, and I'd like to create a public music making area in one of our public spaces, that uses multiple iPad's to control a PC laptop running Ableton.

How many iPad's can be synced to Live at one time?

Also, can the Touch-able interface be customised in a way that will be simple enough for the first time user to control, and will it have labelling options? I figure that you would create this app to control Live in every way possible, however for our purposes it would be great to limit the amount of options on the interface, as it risks a non-musician/non-techy person to get lost and overwhelmed in the many options of what will be a large and complicated Ableton session.

Let me know what you think!

Cheers
You can use 4 ipads with Live & touchAble at one time.
You can use options and make it a little simpler, but not really customise touchAble, like you can TouchOSC or Lemur.
What version of Live are you using?

mousetrapreplica
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by mousetrapreplica » Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:15 am

You can use 4 ipads with Live & touchAble at one time.
You can use options and make it a little simpler, but not really customise touchAble, like you can TouchOSC or Lemur.
What version of Live are you using?
Thanks again for your input.

For this project we'll hopefully get hold of Live Suite 8.3, currently my workplace have just started getting into Live, with buying a bunch of Live Intro licences, however for this one they'll need the Suite plus M4L, which will give our little project a lot more scope to expand.

Cheers.

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Sibanger » Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:34 am

Currently touchAble does not work with Live 8.2.8 or Live 8.3 on Windows/pc.
Concerning the problems with LIve versions 8.3 and 8.2.8 on Windows
The version 8.3 of Ableton (Win) is affected by the same bug that broke the connection of the Ableton API to touchAble in version 8.2.8.
Therefore only the Midi-signals from touchAble (Keys/Pads) make it to Ableton...
Ableton is working on that, there will be a solution soon (they hope they will have the fix ready for their next beta...)
For the time being, please go back to 8.2.7 when working with touchAble.
If you don't have a version 8.2.7: the Ableton support will send you a link to this version if you ask them...
( touchAble help )

madlab
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by madlab » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:14 am

does this also happen on mac ? I planned to buy touchable but...
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Sibanger » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:50 am

Works fine on a Mac...... :x

yop44
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:02 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by yop44 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:01 pm

yop44 wrote:Hi,

when i create a midi track or ungroup some tracks my Touchable crashes :roll:
Is there a solution to this problem?

P.S. I use Live 8.3 on Mac Os X
Am I the only one with this problem?
My music : Soundcloud


Chris / touchAble
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:27 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Chris / touchAble » Tue May 08, 2012 4:44 pm

Just to inform you:
We released an update that fixed the problems stated above with 8.2.8 and higher on Windows.
Just download the new installer from our homepage,
(re)install it and configure the settings in Live according to our manual.
You should be fine from there!

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Sibanger » Wed May 09, 2012 6:54 am

Chris / touchAble wrote:Just to inform you:
We released an update that fixed the problems stated above with 8.2.8 and higher on Windows.
Just download the new installer from our homepage,
(re)install it and configure the settings in Live according to our manual.
You should be fine from there!
I should have re posted a couple of weeks back.

TouchAble is now working fine with new installer with 8.3.

Thank you !

:D

kryz
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by kryz » Mon May 21, 2012 9:22 am

Is there any way to run TouchAble on my touch screen mac (or rather hack) with iOS simulators? That would be fantastic! I would buy it immediately (don't have an iPad).
I have Xcode which seems to include the simulator. And a working dual touch screen hackintosh.

ayamevol
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:02 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by ayamevol » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:31 pm

Hey there.

touchable is working fine for me exept the keys and pads are not working.

i use loop midi and the touchable, ipad is in an ad hoc network. everything is working fine, clips device control, transport ....
but i cant get the keys working, at first i had the sound of the windows synth so i changed this in the touchable server.
tried different midi ports and all. the signal just dont arrive in ableton.
why is the touchable input port i choose always written in orange in the ableton setings?

i had kind of a similar problem back with livecontrol but cant remember what i have done to fix it.
been fiddeling around now for a time and feel a bit stuck :)
any help is appreciatet.
btw griid and other things seemed to work just finde. and no i have every midi controller in ableton dissabled exept touchable.

thanks for any help :)

edit: i am on windows

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:01 pm

I was wondering what's going on with Touchable these days. Doesn't seem like their moving forward anymore. At least not like they were before. I thought they'd do a lot more in terms of those custom device control interfaces they started doing. The instruments would really benefit from it.
Professional Shark Jumper.

undershift
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 6:14 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by undershift » Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:11 pm

frandoc wrote:
rabouille wrote:
frandoc wrote:Hi there,

I like Touchable very much but I can't launch clips because when I do it from my ipad, the clip is played looping on 1 BAR. If I change the lenght of the loop on the Ipad, I see the cursors moving but the clip is still played only on 1 BAR. If I launch that clip directly from the computer, it works fine ! It's crazy !

I try with a new set, and it's the same bug ...

I check the preferences, and everything seems to be ok ...

my configuration : live 8,2,6 and Ipad 2

Any idea ?

Thanks for your reply.
Hey!

i have the same problem! please hel if you have a workaround.

undershift@gmx.de

T H A N KS



really weird...is "one tap recording" option selected in settings menu? if yes, can you try without?
I just try with the "one tap recording" option , but nothing changes. I try to record an audio clip thru touchable, and it seems to the same thing : the recording stops after 1 bar and starts to play the clip.

bizarre, bizarre ...

-----

I just found the solution : in live's preferences, if I select the "touchable script 1 input" ON, it works fine. May be the screenshot on http://touch-able.com/Site/Setup-Guide_Mac_fr.html (the setup guide) should be changed ?

Thanks for this very cool app !

kryz
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by kryz » Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:18 pm

Hey, is this still alive? I was wondering if there is a way to run touchable on a touch screen mac without iOS devices. Anybody willing to answer?

Post Reply