TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:09 pm

Looks like a nice list of fixes and under the hood type enhancements. Was hoping for step sequecer or piano roll like in LiveOSC and maybe some more live device layouts like EQ8, but I guess the stuff that was enhanced in this update is probably more important for now, especially speed and reliability. Looking forward to trying it out.
Professional Shark Jumper.

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by rabouille » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:18 pm

glitchrock-buddha wrote:Looks like a nice list of fixes and under the hood type enhancements. Was hoping for step sequecer or piano roll like in LiveOSC and maybe some more live device layouts like EQ8, but I guess the stuff that was enhanced in this update is probably more important for now, especially speed and reliability. Looking forward to trying it out.
Eq8 template is already provided since 1.0! :)
We really wanted to deliver the solidest app possible, we think is done with this new version.
Step sequencer and some others modules will come in time, don't worry.

CR78
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by CR78 » Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:15 pm

So now the wait for the 2nd Gen iPad begins. ...

Apple,PLEASE,PLEASE add the microUSB port that has been speculated/rumored.

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:08 pm

rabouille wrote:
glitchrock-buddha wrote:Looks like a nice list of fixes and under the hood type enhancements. Was hoping for step sequecer or piano roll like in LiveOSC and maybe some more live device layouts like EQ8, but I guess the stuff that was enhanced in this update is probably more important for now, especially speed and reliability. Looking forward to trying it out.
Eq8 template is already provided since 1.0! :)
Yes I know. And I'm saying I wish more control templates had been added like it. For example for operator and other effects.
But having it be as reliable as possible is paramount of course.
Professional Shark Jumper.

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by outershpongolia » Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:44 pm

i'm too lazy to look too hard into this :mrgreen: but is there any browser scrolling / loading clips,instruments,effects,sets, etc from the browser or is that when you need to turn to the computer?

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by rabouille » Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:26 pm

outershpongolia wrote:i'm too lazy to look too hard into this :mrgreen: but is there any browser scrolling / loading clips,instruments,effects,sets, etc from the browser or is that when you need to turn to the computer?
I wish we could provide that, but that a limitation of the liveAPI, nothing we can do.

machine+1
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:45 pm
Location: brooklyn

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by machine+1 » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:41 am

Really enjoying this update, thanks for all your hard work. I have it running on my home network, not ad hoc, and I have no problems with connection or latency.

A few things:

When I switch from a Set with devices on some of the the tracks to one with no devices, the devices from the old Set remain.

The new touchAble Server installer adds the remote scripts "touchAble1" and "touchAble2". The previous version was "touchAble" and "touchAble2". Is it ok to delete the remote script "touchAble" now that I've upgraded?

Thanks again- this just keeps getting better! :)

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by rabouille » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:40 am

machine+1 wrote:Really enjoying this update, thanks for all your hard work. I have it running on my home network, not ad hoc, and I have no problems with connection or latency.

A few things:

When I switch from a Set with devices on some of the the tracks to one with no devices, the devices from the old Set remain.

The new touchAble Server installer adds the remote scripts "touchAble1" and "touchAble2". The previous version was "touchAble" and "touchAble2". Is it ok to delete the remote script "touchAble" now that I've upgraded?

Thanks again- this just keeps getting better! :)
About the devices, thanks for your feedback, didn't happen to us during last betatests, but we are going to check one more time. You still have reload set button in option settings, and update devices button in devices menu, that should help in case.

About script, yes you can delete the old touchAblescript and keep 1 &2, go to your live application, right click, show content packets/Contents/ app-ressources/midi remote scripts/touchAblescript, and delete the folder.

naph
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by naph » Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:42 pm

got time only to play around a bit, but i'm very impressed with the new update, very welcome bugfixes and new features! GOOOD JOB GUYS !

Alfonso Guerrero
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Mexico City
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Alfonso Guerrero » Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:57 pm

Superb update guys!

Thank you so much!

Remarkable work!

I just have a question: Is it just me or the touchAble Server application doesn't show a custom icon on this updated version? It just shows the default application program icon, the white one with the pencil and the ruler.

Thank you!

:)

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by rabouille » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:45 pm

Alfonso Guerrero wrote:Superb update guys!

Thank you so much!

Remarkable work!

I just have a question: Is it just me or the touchAble Server application doesn't show a custom icon on this updated version? It just shows the default application program icon, the white one with the pencil and the ruler.

Thank you!

:)

thanks :)

you should see a custom icon...

Image

Alfonso Guerrero
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Mexico City
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Alfonso Guerrero » Sun Nov 21, 2010 1:14 am

rabouille wrote:
Alfonso Guerrero wrote:Superb update guys!

Thank you so much!

Remarkable work!

I just have a question: Is it just me or the touchAble Server application doesn't show a custom icon on this updated version? It just shows the default application program icon, the white one with the pencil and the ruler.

Thank you!

:)

thanks :)

you should see a custom icon...

Image
Thank you!

Already uninstalled it and reinstalled it and no change, I just get the default icon, any ideas anyone?

:(

Alfonso Guerrero
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:07 am
Location: Mexico City
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by Alfonso Guerrero » Sun Nov 21, 2010 3:46 am

Alfonso Guerrero wrote:
rabouille wrote:
Alfonso Guerrero wrote:Superb update guys!

Thank you so much!

Remarkable work!

I just have a question: Is it just me or the touchAble Server application doesn't show a custom icon on this updated version? It just shows the default application program icon, the white one with the pencil and the ruler.

Thank you!

:)

thanks :)

you should see a custom icon...

Image
Thank you!

Already uninstalled it and reinstalled it and no change, I just get the default icon, any ideas anyone?

:(
Ok, I figured it out, in case anyone is having the same issue.

Only solution I could find was to change the application icon manually, but you have to unlock the permissions keypad to do so in this case.

The icon I grabbed from the installer by the way.

Loving the update!

Thank you!

:)

rabouille
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Perpignan France
Contact:

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by rabouille » Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:08 pm

TOUCHABLE 1.1
Requirements:
Ableton Live 8.1.1 minimum running on a computer on the same WiFi network
Windows XP, Vista, 7
Mac OS X 10.5 or newer
touchAbleServer-software from http://www.touch-able.com

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

razorblade
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 4:37 pm

Re: TouchAble - complete controller for Ableton Live & IPAD

Post by razorblade » Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:34 pm

Is this a free update, or is it going to cost me 25 bucks?
No...I am 3phase!

Post Reply