All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:58 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 40
Location: Vancouver, BC
Is it possible to do this in live? I can figure out how to bring use the compressor in a channel, but not really sure how to sidechain it. Is it only possible to sidechain with lives built in devices or can you use external plugins? I tried an effect rack but the sidechain option isn't available. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 641
sc with waves is more complicated than live compressor... and i dont think its any better.
open the additional tab on the compressor plugin, and select the input track.
thats all, any other tweaking is optional.
and its described well in the manual.

_________________
*-*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:24 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 40
Location: Vancouver, BC
There is no additional tab for the waves plugins like there is with the ableton plugins, so I have no way to route the sidechaining properly. How can I access one of these tabs so that I can route it properly? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:22 am 

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:46 pm
Posts: 696
Location: Los Angeles, California
he's talking about live's compressor. if i'm not mistaken the way one sidechains with waves plugs is via sends. i could be wrong though but feel free to google it as well.

as was mentioned i don't think it sounds any better and live's compressor is easier to set up.

_________________
mihaistroe.com | facebook | twitter | soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:51 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:29 pm
Posts: 641
yes it is in live compressor. why not do it there?
in waves as i remember you have to set the channel to mono. left or right channel is the input and the opposite is the compressed signal. set the trigger audio channels (usually the kick) output to the "track in" of the waves plugin channel.

_________________
*-*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sidechaining With Waves Plugins??
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:59 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Posts: 7853
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
d-track wrote:
sc with waves is more complicated than live compressor... and i dont think its any better.
open the additional tab on the compressor plugin, and select the input track.
thats all, any other tweaking is optional.
and its described well in the manual.


they simply work different (the triggering mechanism) but setting up SC for a waves compressor is dead easy too, read the manual.

and they simply sound different not better not worse, but very very different (obviously the difference varies depending on which of the many waves comps we are talking about)

i also have to say using waves often, i totally like the free SSS http://sonictransfer.com/sss-side-chain ... dows.shtml

windows & OSX

works a treat and sounds great (i like it especially for squashing bass)

_________________
*** Image GAFM ***


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group