Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
deanc2000
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:37 am

Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by deanc2000 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:35 am

I haven't seen this type of a device yet, but I've heard of Logic's Chord memorizer. This device would let you press one key and it would give you the diatonic triad for that note in your key. So let's say your in the key of C major, and you press a D note. It will give you a D minor triad.

Anything close to this in Max4Live devices or plugins?

Dean.

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by rbmonosylabik » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:40 am

You can do it with Live's native devices. Just place a Chord MIDI plug-in set to output +4 and +7 (major 3rd and 5th), then from the Scale plug in presets, add C Major and use the Base knob to set your root.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

deanc2000
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:37 am

Re: Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by deanc2000 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:50 am

No, that will only give me I, IV, and V. ii, iii, vi are minor chords, and vii is diminished. So I will need a way to route certain keys to the Major chord effect, certain to the minor chord effect, and one to the diminished chord effect.

I think I will need to brush up on key zones, maybe I can do it this way.

Dean.

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by rbmonosylabik » Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:06 am

It does give you all diatonic chords. The idea is that the Chord plug in generates a triad, then the Scale plug in quantizes it to the notes in the scale you choose with Base. So, for instance, if you hit D in your keyboard, Chord will generate D F# A, then, if your Scale plug is set to C Major, it will take any notes that are outside the C Major scale (in this case F#) and make them fit into the scale (converting it to F). That's how you get ii (D F A).
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

bagginz
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by bagginz » Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:10 am

Lol!

Poor rbmonosylabik.

Tries to help the guy, then gets told he doesn't know what he's talking about...

Cheers,
bagginz

deanc2000
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:37 am

Re: Is there a Diatonic Chord Device?

Post by deanc2000 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:38 pm

Thanks for your assistance. Yes, you were right.

D.

Post Reply