windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
dna598
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by dna598 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:34 pm

I just put together my i7 920 and gigabyte x58a-ud3r with win7 for the second time.

THis windows 7 is fucking crashtastic. Never seen a blue screen on XP in my life, and now in the new age of WIN7 x64 it happens EVERYTIME i run the pc.
I ran XP on the same PC the last coupla months and it worked fine.

I have seen that this is a common problem on windows 7 from googling it.

Anyone else been through this shit?

My hackmac is stabler than this!
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

dum
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:51 pm

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by dum » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:44 pm

djsynchro wrote:
dna598 wrote:My hackmac is stabler than this!
It just works.
+1
Pasha wrote:Thanks dum for being so precise.

H20nly
Posts: 15846
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by H20nly » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:57 pm

dna598 wrote:I just put together my i7 920 and gigabyte x58a-ud3r with win7 for the second time.
therein lies the problem perhaps.

I haven't seen Windows 7 fail yet, but I've often seen people building their own PCs fail. Try stripping it down. Get rid of everything you don't need... if you have 2, 3, 4 sticks of RAM strip down to one. Uninstall the DVD and leave just the CD ROM etc. or better yet, unplug it too. Start up the machine and see if it works without a blue screen. shut down and slowly add back the hardware restarting/testing, restarting/testing until the failure returns. Its probably a bad driver, lack of a needed driver, hardware conflict or one of your parts isn't seated correctly and its causing havoc... try re-seating the video card. It could even be a jumper that got knocked off.

Also, make sure your BIOS is setup correctly and its not set to boot off of USB or something daft. If you tried tweaking the BIOS, then try returning it to factory settings... what worked for your old RAM or your old processor doesn't necessarily spell success for your new equipment.
LoopStationZebra wrote:it's like a hipster commie pinko manifesto. Rambling. Angry. Nearly divorced from all reality; yet strangely compelling with a ring of truth.

H20nly
Posts: 15846
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by H20nly » Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:02 pm

One more thing... are there any unusual beeps at startup? Those beeps will tell you things about your hardware if you look them up:

http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm
LoopStationZebra wrote:it's like a hipster commie pinko manifesto. Rambling. Angry. Nearly divorced from all reality; yet strangely compelling with a ring of truth.

martinkellogs
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:56 pm

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by martinkellogs » Fri Aug 27, 2010 11:45 pm

bad board?
Last edited by martinkellogs on Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Angstrom
Posts: 14678
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by Angstrom » Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:19 am

I've no idea how much experience you have with building machines but it's worth running a memory test,
get a bootable memory test disk and see what it reports.

Also, make sure you are sending enough power to the memory sticks, or it will fuck with you no end.
Different memory has different power requirements.

dna598
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by dna598 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 12:44 am

Yeah maybe a memory test would be in order. Never done one.

Like i said though, I had xp running flawlessy on a previous drive, and it is currently dual booting and running osx SL totally fine!

Im therefore not so sure its a ram problem. It seems to me a problem restricted to windows 7 and my hardware.

In fact the motherboard/ram/cpu was actually built and tested by scan. They apparently do a 24 hour burn in on xp.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

Angstrom
Posts: 14678
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by Angstrom » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:21 am

hmm,
If XP is still running Ok, it's probably not the memory then unless it's an edge case where the exact memory locations that win7 can now address (which XP couldn't) are the problematic ones - so causing errors.
Seems a little unlikely though.

Are you sure about this hard-drive that win7 is on?
have you run a checkdisk on it, etc?

can you even get to your Event Viewer logs to see what's bringing the system down?
There's probably a nice big clue in there.

netwarrior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 6:22 am

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by netwarrior » Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:39 am

i have win 7 x64 and it works just fine, better than xp...
even on 4 gb ram @ celeron dual core T3300 processor in my laptop...
which is nice that ableton works on this machine just perfect and covers all my needs...

c5_convertible
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by c5_convertible » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:15 am

Start in safe mode (press F8 when booting). If it works fine then, it is a faulty driver. I would revert back to the microsoft driver for VGA first, then see if you can find a newer (or older) driver for you VGA. If that didn't work, follow H2's advice, and disconnect all devices, and add them one by one.
If it doesn't work in safe mode, check the BIOS SATA settings. You say you have an hackintosh part on there as well? Are you sure you didn't change the SATA setup in BIOS from AHCI to IDE (or legacy or the other way around?) after you installed windows?
As a last resort, to rule out a bad copy (it doesn't happen often, but I've seen it happen), do an in-place upgrade of windows. Just run setup on top of the current install.
Hope this helps.

IP
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Greece

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by IP » Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:17 am

i guess your win7 copy is not a cracked 1?

elektroman
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:57 am
Location: Australia

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by elektroman » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:20 am

If it's a new build as you say, then it could be some hardware error probably. As far as my experience W7 64 is yet to fail me. It is by far the most stable system i have ever had. I just dropped a SSD into my setup as well and it runs like a dream, chews whatever i throw at it.
Hope you fix your issue mate.
Elektro
Live 9 / Cubase 8.5Pro, Win10 x64, i7 2600k, Presonus StudioLive + KRK 8" G2's, Launchpad, APC40 + Korg M3.

dna598
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by dna598 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:19 pm

thanks to those gloating x64 users....its all very well telling me you have a great system, but I don't!

Windows 7 does fail! Fact!lol.

I made all the appropriate bios settings before installing.

Its really weird cos my hardware is bang up to date. I'm thinking it is perhaps some bios drivers on the gigabyte cd that i installed, maybe were installed as 32 bit?

I 'll have to try uninstalling them.

really need to get this working!

Thanks guys.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

martinkellogs
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:56 pm

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by martinkellogs » Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:10 pm

any luck?
Last edited by martinkellogs on Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Laura_Live
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:22 pm

Re: windows 7 x64 = BSOD

Post by Laura_Live » Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:46 pm

Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit running smoothly here.. haven't had a BSOD since it came out.

I assume it is linked to you building your PC yourself

Make sure it is not underpowered and that the RAM is alright

From what I remember BSOD often occur for these reasons

Bad memory
power supply
H E A T

Have you mounted your CPU cooler the right way ?

Post Reply