Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by Amaury » Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:28 pm

The current beta version of Live is 8.1.6b6

OS X: http://downloads.ableton.com/software/8 ... _816b6.dmg
Windows: http://downloads.ableton.com/software/8 ... _816b6.zip

Kind regards,
Amaury

---------------------

Improvements

- Integrated a new library for Complex pro that allows using samples with a sample rate up to 384KHz, as is supposed to be. There would previously be crashes with samples with a sample rate equal or greater than 256KHz.

Bug fixes

- Fixed a crash that occurred when using a mapping that is connected to a device header.

Serato related changes

- Made sure the Serato driver is always used when the Serato driver type is automatically selected after Live and Scratch Live connect.

- Enabled CTRL/Cmd clicking the Solo buttons in the Serato Ableton view to mirror the behaviour in Live.


8.1.5b5: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=149239
8.1.6b4: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=148833
8.1.6b3: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=148256
Ableton Product Team

leinad
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:27 pm
Location: germany

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by leinad » Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:20 pm

Follow http://twitter.com/abannounce and get timely updates on stable and beta releases (Yeah!, you too, @Ableton, show some love for code and follow that bot ;))
8.1, Windows 7 (32 bit)

simpleton
Posts: 913
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Location: Location:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by simpleton » Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:40 am

X.X.6b6 :twisted:
I'm not falling for that one. Impregnated with the Serato demon seed. 8O
Image
The Leveller wrote:Wow, a weird shaped dead coral with sh!t stuck to it. Proof indeed of supernatural abilities.

S4racen
Posts: 5492
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by S4racen » Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:23 am

Amaury wrote: - Made sure the Serato driver is always used when the Serato driver type is automatically selected after Live and Scratch Live connect.
Umm does this mean the bridge will only work if the Serato Driver is chosen? I don't use it at all preferring to run the audio from my SL1 back into a Motu 828 and into Ableton so it can be effected by ableton rather than running the ableton audio out through the sl1 box which has no use to me as i dont have a dj mixer....

Cheers
D

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by Amaury » Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:56 am

S4racen wrote:
Amaury wrote: - Made sure the Serato driver is always used when the Serato driver type is automatically selected after Live and Scratch Live connect.
Umm does this mean the bridge will only work if the Serato Driver is chosen? I don't use it at all preferring to run the audio from my SL1 back into a Motu 828 and into Ableton so it can be effected by ableton rather than running the ableton audio out through the sl1 box which has no use to me as i dont have a dj mixer....

Cheers
D
Hi,

No, you can still use your preferred soundcard with The Bridge. But, when Live connects to Serato, it defaults to use the Serato driver, as always. If you want to use your own soundcard, you have to go select it. We may improve it in the future so that if you made the choice to use your own soundcard once, this choice is remembered, but this is not planned for now.

The bugfix is about this: sometimes, when quitting Serato while Live is running, the Serato driver is reset before it is closed, resulting in a driver with no outputs. The Live user is notified with a message, and then Live switches to the previously chosen soundcard, as Serato is closed. When then re-opening Serato, and the Serato driver type is automatically chosen, we make sure the "Audio Device" is not "none", which happened previously in this very case.

Hope that helps.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

S4racen
Posts: 5492
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by S4racen » Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:27 am

Excellent, perfect if it did remember your last choice but not essential!

Cheers
D

Paradigm X
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by Paradigm X » Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:24 am

leinad wrote:Follow http://twitter.com/abannounce and get timely updates on stable and beta releases (Yeah!, you too, @Ableton, show some love for code and follow that bot ;))
Thats great.

But would still prefer an email from Ableton when each stable release is released... Please? I am a registered owner.

I get other emails from ableton from time to time...
Q6600 : 4gb corsair : 3x 320gb seagate drive 1x 1TB WD Caviar Black : Abit AB9 Pro Mobo : Focusrite Pro 24 DSP : 1xUAD2 Quad, 1xUAD2Duo : Windows 7 x64 : Novation Remote Zero SL : Novation Launchpad : NI Komplete 5 : Cubase 5.5.1 : Ableton 8.1.5

massenmedium
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:25 pm

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by massenmedium » Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:45 pm

Yeah I wondered what was going wrong with all my 384KHz recordings.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by timothyallan » Sat Sep 11, 2010 2:07 am

massenmedium wrote:Yeah I wondered what was going wrong with all my 384KHz recordings.
Finally I can hear my reverb tails properly at 384kHz!

thevariable
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:27 am

New problem with Drum Racks in curent version

Post by thevariable » Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:38 pm

Ever since I updated to the beta I have an issue when recording clips in the drum rack. For some reason while recording Live will record midi information as if I where holding down the keys. When I revert back to 8.1.5 I don't have this issue

Lamont
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:10 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by Lamont » Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:43 pm

I tried 8.1.6b6. It doesn't crash, but my Akai APC-20 doesn't behaving properly.
My APC-20 disconnects after a few minutes.

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: New problem with Drum Racks in curent version

Post by Amaury » Sun Sep 12, 2010 7:50 pm

thevariable wrote:Ever since I updated to the beta I have an issue when recording clips in the drum rack. For some reason while recording Live will record midi information as if I where holding down the keys. When I revert back to 8.1.5 I don't have this issue
Hello,

Can yo please describe in more details what you mean by "recording clips in the drum rack"? I tried what I imagined but can't detect a problem. Please let me know how to reproduce this.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

luddy
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 3:36 am
Location: Beijing
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by luddy » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:00 am

timothyallan wrote:
massenmedium wrote:Yeah I wondered what was going wrong with all my 384KHz recordings.
Finally I can hear my reverb tails properly at 384kHz!
+1. It used to suck having so much space left over on my 32Tb RAID servers after five minutes of recording. Thanks Ableton!

-Luddy

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by timothyallan » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:53 am

lol!!!!!!

massenmedium
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 6:25 pm

Re: Current Beta Version: 8.1.6b6 (updated September 9, 2010)

Post by massenmedium » Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:13 am

The question now is whether the BHF works properly at sample rates above 192Khz...

Post Reply